quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Happy New Year
Wednesday, Jan. 04, 2006 : 9:20 p.m.
Wow. It's been almost 3 months since I've updated here. So much has happened and yet everything is pretty much the same. I can't say that the new year feels any different. I also can't say that I've made any resolutions. Well, that's kind of a lie. I say "kind of" because saying "Most of my neighbors are fucking morons" once a day is more of a mantra than a resolution.

I haven't been on D'land at all over the past several months - even to keep up on other diaries. For that I apologize. I'm going to make an effort to stay updated on all you's guys and try to keep y'alls up to date on what's going on here.

Bad news/good news - in late October we almost lost Babs. Long story short she went into heart failure. We had to rush her into Angell Memorial in Boston - and let me tell you, the staff and vets there are simply amazing - and fortunately she pulled out of it within a day, but she still had to stay there for several days afterwards. When she came home she was on a diuretic, insulin and a blood pressure med. Right now the only thing she's still on is the blood pressure med. Yay! We have to bring her back to Angell late this month/early next month for a follow-up EKG and, depending on the results of it, she may be able to come off the blood pressure med. Yay!!

Christmas was too short, as always. It was nice. We headed to NY to spend time with my family. We'd picked names out of a hat rather than buying stuff for everyone. It cut out a LOT of stress for all of us. It's the first Christmas in a long, long time that I've actually been able to sit back, relax and enjoy the season. Of course now I'm depressed that it's over, but I get like this every year.

I'm going back to the ENT doctor this Friday to talk to him about getting a CPAP machine. Ugh. But if it's going to help me become a normal person, it has to be done. Just wish I could use the mask that fit over both my nose and mouth. When I tried it during part 2 of the sleep study back in October, I completely freaked.

That's all I can think of at the moment. I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season. I also hope to get caught up on much diary reading here soon and get back in touch!

Have a great evening.