quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

"Wait 5 minutes..."
Sunday, Mar. 21, 2004 : 9:25 a.m.
You know the saying - "If you don't like the weather in New England, wait 5 minutes." Now you can add "And make sure your Orb is still pulsing."

I got D an Ambient Orb for Christmas. I purchased it through thinkgeek.com. It's pretty cool. You can set it to track the weather, the market, your portfolio, etc. He had it set to track his portfolio, but if anything is down even the tiniest bit, the Orb is red. Since I'd been reading many stories of the supernatural world recently, the red was really starting to creep me out so I asked him to change it to the weather, which is what it's been set to for the past week. Whenever there's a weather change, the Orb pulses. It has not stopped pulsing since Monday.

All's quiet this morning. The Country must still be asleep. The loud music finally stopped around 6:30 yesterday evening. In my pms-induced wrath I opened the door and yelled at them a couple of times. The first time they turned it down almost immediately. The second time they didn't bother. I can't fully explain what noise does to me. I don't tolerate noise very well. I tried explaining it to D last night like this: think of the scene in the end of the first Matrix movie when Neo jumps into the Agent Smith's body (it is Agent Smith, right?). I am Agent Smith. 'AS' starts convulsing until Neo bursts out of 'AS's' body. That's how noise makes me feel. And not just when I'm pms'ing, thanks. I wonder if this is a condition of some sort. Have to go to the doctor for a checkup in a few weeks and am going to ask her about it.