quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

The most boring post EVER
Tuesday, Mar. 23, 2004 : 7:01 p.m.
I say that in my best Comic Book Guy voice. It loses something when you have to describe it, though.

I was not a pleasant person yesterday. The unpleasantness was a carryover of Saturday's ire with The Country. I've still had it up to my eyeballs with them, but feel I can make a diary entry this evening that is not laced with expletives and other nastiness. I hate saying things I later regret so try to just keep my mouth shut until I've calmed down and thought things through. Unlike the time at South Station last year when we were stepping on the train just as it started to pull out of the station. The conductor pushed us off, saying we couldn't board a moving train. This, after he and another conductor stood there watching us run and yelling at us to keep running - they'd wait. I stood there shouting expletives at him until I figured he couldn't hear me and then continued giving him 'the salute' until the train was out of sight. I think D wanted to crawl into the ground. Hell hath no fury.

My boss didn't help my mood yesterday. Well, she never does much to improve it. In spite of liking the rest of my department, I find myself in a quest for better employment. After the boss put me over the edge yesterday, I talked with our 2nd in command about what she'd done to get under my skin this time. I like the fact that I can talk to #2 about things that piss me off at the office. It's good to know that many of the same things that annoy me, annoy him as well. He's the only man in my department and I honestly think we need that balance. He ticks me off once in a while too, but it's usually just small, petty stuff, so I get over it in about 5 minutes. Plus he's up on cartoons because his kids watch some of the stuff I do. I think he suspects I may be looking for new employment. I'm giving no hints to anyone that I am. Yes, I was rudely passed over for the position of Executive Assistant to the President, which I am MORE than qualified for. But I'm still doing my job the way I always have and am not treating anyone any differently than before. They hired someone from the 'outside', but let me sit there for a month and a half wondering what the heck was going on. Then I heard second hand they'd hired someone before they got around to telling me themselves. Not the way to treat an employee, people. My favorite co-worker is still appalled I didn't get it. It unfortunately happens a lot where I work. I think the reason more people don't leave is because they have great benefits and a fantastic 401(k) plan. I'm sure there are other places out there with plans just as good, and who also treat their employees with some degree of respect. It's now my quest to find one of them. That and to buy a can of Oust for the hallway here at home. Every time The Country opens their door, the nauseating smell of grease comes wafting out, filling the hall and creeping under my doors. It's disgusting.

Get me outta here!

There are some good things going on in my life. Seems all I've been putting in here is the negative stuff. I've got the countdown to April 10 going on. That's our first Red Sox game of the season! Pedro's pitching. Am a little disappointed I don't get to see Curt pitch in his new uniform yet, but there are plenty more games we're attending this year. In June 2002, the Diamondbacks were in town and we had tix to see them play the Sox. My prayers were answered for that game - my 2 favorite pitchers were starting that day - Pedro and Curt. I was like a kid in a candy store. The people sitting in front of us offered their binoculars so I could watch Curt warm up in right field. Think I drooled on them. I don't know what it is about him that gets me so worked up. I've loved him since way back in '93.

Well, this is all I can put forth tonight. My brain is officially fried for the rest of the day. Here's to better days, better weather and better moods tomorrow! :)

P.S. The Orb finally stopped pulsing!