quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Mmmmm... coffee
Thursday, Mar. 25, 2004 : 4:59 p.m.
The day started off a little crazy. I woke up thinking it was Saturday and then reality hit. My brand new pair of nylons had a run before I even left the house. I was re-reading my previous day�s diary entry and saw a comment just screaming at me �This doesn�t read the way you meant it!� and edited it as quickly as possible to reflect what was really intended. I got stuck behind 18 different school buses on the way to work that made stops every 50 feet.

And then� I enter the realm of coffee-dom, and all is right with the world.

I stop at the same place almost every morning for coffee and swear the people that work there have memories better than elephants. When I walk in one of them will say �Good Morning/Hi! Medium, cinnamon hazelnut, black.� It might sound silly but it makes me smile every time. One of the women that works there looks unhappy, though. It�s terrible I don�t know her name. I�m going to make it a point to find out what it is. She�s very nice and seems like someone I could hang out with. Next time we have a get together at our place, I�m going to invite her.

In spite of my rant last week about opening up to people, I still have this overwhelming need to reach out, especially to folks who look like they need a friend or are unhappy. I was the Queen of Unhappiness for a long time, and I didn�t enjoy my reign. I slip back into the role from time to time (just recently, even) but remove myself as quickly as possible when I realize I�ve slipped back. Life�s just too short. This is a lesson D has taught me through his own actions and reactions. So many things aren�t worth getting upset about. There are times when it�s hard to not get upset, though. That�s when it�s good to take a step back, calm yourself and not react until you�ve had a chance to rationalize the situation. My South Station episode is a good example of what NOT to do when angered. At least we can laugh about it now. What the conductor did was rude, yes, but it did not warrant that type of a reaction, especially from me. D is funny � when he knows I�m experiencing those 3, bold, upper case letters that strike fear into the hearts of many, he does not respond in any way to anything negative I have to say. He completely ignores me. It�s self-defense with a lesson. He knows at heart I�m not rabid, that the insanity will pass, so there�s no need to react. Took me a long time to realize he wasn�t just being a jerk.

My boss has been in a great mood the past couple of days. It coincides with a dream I had about her the other night. She�d given her notice. Maybe it�s a premonition. She�s just as frustrated with the place as we are. Yes, she drives me, and my co-workers, crazy. However, we need to remember the President doesn�t show her any respect. No matter what idea she presents, he�s against it. No matter what she does for the benefit of the organization, he shows no appreciation. Kind of like what she does to us, BUT � I think with her it�s a case of cause and effect. She�s a good person at heart. Maybe my department should plan a coup. That could be fun!

Quilting class is this evening and my lazy butt doesn�t want to go. Didn�t go at all last week, so I really should tonight. I�m at a point though where I really don�t need any instruction/direction from the teacher. Plus I work on it so much faster when I�m home. I plan to have all of my squares finished up by the end of the weekend so I can bring it to class next week and start to put the whole thing together. I�m still debating giving the quilt to my parents when it�s finished. Not sure I have enough fabric to make another king size quilt if I do, but can always buy more. D really likes the fabrics I chose for the quilt, and I know he�s looking forward to ditching our comforter and putting the quilt on the bed instead. What to do, what to do.

Here's a completed quilt block.