quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Gram
Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004 : 6:52 p.m.
Last Friday (3/19) my cousin called to catch up a little. She's recently been to FL to visit her dad and his wife, and to visit my grandmother's husband (John). When she made the plans to visit, Gram was still alive. I'm glad she went to visit John even though Gram's not with us anymore. John married my grandmother in 1982. I couldn't stand him at the time. My grandmother lived in FL only as a snowbird but a few years after she married John, they moved down there permanently. I thought this was all John's doing and disliked him even more because in my mind, he took my grandmother away from me. I'm not the only one in the family who's disliked him. He's the kind of guy who will disagree with you just for the sake of an argument. However, it seems the older I got, the more he mellowed. Or the more I matured. Probably both. I realized how much he truly loved and adored my grandmother and did whatever he could for her to be happy. So John, I'm sorry for all the sarcastic remarks and the general disdain I had for you. I know now how much you loved Gram and know the hole she's left in your heart probably goes the deepest. Thank you for taking such good care of her and treating her like a queen while she was alive.

Okay, so now I'm crying like an idiot. This isn't where I intended to go with this entry but since I can't concentrate now and need to go blow my nose, I'll get to the other stuff later.