quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Sports
Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2004 : 1:54 p.m.
So I shuffled out to the living room, bleary eyed, to see the Yankees and the Devil Rays on TV this morning. I thought D was watching ESPN Classics. Nope. It was live and they were playing in Japan. I'd completely forgotten about it. Now, I'm from New York (STATE), but I am not a Yankees fan (I'm a Mets fan. Shhhhh... nobody needs to know!). So, I was very happy to see the Yanks start their season off on the right foot! ::eg:: I say this in good fun. Baseball is a game, albeit an expensive one. I'm not one of those rabid Red Sox fans that pelt Yankees fans with popcorn and hot dogs. Concession prices are too high to waste a perfectly good Fenway Frank. There are times I'd like to bean some fans, yes - Yankees fans AND Red Sox fans - if they're being obnoxious/unruly. It's a game, people. Calm down, have fun and let those around you enjoy the game as well.

I'm really looking forward to attending games this year, and not just because we got one of the greatest pitchers (and my personal favorite) in the world back. Our tickets are in the no-alcohol section so I'm hoping that people in this section will be there for the same reason we are - to enjoy the game and cheer on the Sox.

Boston is one crazy sports town. Scary crazy. I was saddened when I saw Patriots fans rioting after the Pats won the Super Bowl. THEY WON, people. Calm down! Even if they lost - it's ONLY A GAME. Games are meant to be enjoyed, not to start riots and feuds over.

On the subject of sports, my sister's youngest son is a high school junior and went out for lacrosse. Well, yesterday he got hit in the crotch with the lacrosse ball and isn't feeling so great right now. He has an appointment with the urologist today. There's a lot of blood where it shouldn't be. I'm hoping and praying everything is okay. I'm going to be distracted until I hear what the doctor says. That poor kid. I swear he's like a Timex watch, though - after all the things he's broken, bruised and nearly maimed, he just keeps on ticking. My sister and brother in law were on a first name basis with the folks in the emergency room for quite a long time while he and his brother were younger. This kid has got an incredible memory, too. He can give you play by plays of games he watched years ago. I'd love to see him work in sports.