quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Volleyball and Sex
Wednesday, Mar. 31, 2004 : 4:55 p.m.
D plays volleyball two - sometimes three - nights a week. Afterwards, he and some others go out for a couple of drinks (i.e. beer), so typically he doesn't get home until around midnight. Most nights I'm still awake when he gets home because for some reason I can't sleep until he's back. Last night was an exception. I got into bed, turned the TV on and promptly fell asleep. Next thing I know, I hear the TV clicking off and he's crawling into bed. Fine. No problem. Except he's trying to 'snuggle', and I use that term loosely because we ALL know that men never just 'snuggle'. Hey, you've been playing volleyball, you're stinky and you know it. Go take a shower before you touch me, you nut! For some reason last night the 'snuggling' was making me incredibly angry. I think I was way more tired than I thought I was - when I was getting ready for bed I noticed my eyes were bloodshot. Anyway, I tried to move so I could roll over and go back to sleep but he must have taken it as encouragement. I had all I could do to not turn over and kick him out of bed!

Typically I love sex. Heck, who doesn't? But lately it just hasn't been holding the same thrill for me that it used to. Is it because I'm getting older? Maybe. But I've also noticed that my libido has weakened considerably since our 'discussion' a year ago. On one hand, I'm glad he still wants me; on the other I think, "Is this all he wants and if so, why the hell am I sticking around?" I know the answer to the latter half of that question - it's because I love him. But is that enough?

But I don't want to get into all of that right now.

The street sweepers were out today tidying things up a little before the rain came, getting rid of sand and debris that's accumulated since November. The April showers arrived a little early and look as though they'll be sticking around through the weekend to make everything nice and green. Allergies aside, I really like spring. To me, it holds more promise of renewal and change than New Year's. And I love rain. There's nothing like waking up on a Saturday or Sunday morning, all snug under the covers, to the sound of rain on the roof, lulling me back to sleep. Rain is soothing. Rain is cleansing. I was giving a co-worker in another department a hard time today. This was the start of the conversation:

Him: "Crummy weather."

Me: "No, not really. It's not snowing and no one has to worry about treacherous road conditions."

Him: "Oh, I suppose, but it's terrible, they say it's supposed to rain for at least 3 days straight."

Me: "It IS almost April - you know the saying - April Showers..."

He changed the subject.

My nephew didn't 'bust' anything during the lacrosse accident, thank God. He's under orders for no activity of any sort for the rest of the week and no lacrosse for at least 10 days. If I were his mother I'd say "No lacrosse ever!" but that just gave me horrible visions of "No wire hangers, EVER!" so maybe I wouldn't. Knowing him, he'll bounce right back and be out there on the field again as soon as he can. He has another appointment with the urologist in a couple of weeks. I just can't imagine how much pain he's got to be in. My prayers are with you for a speedy recovery, kiddo.