quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Are we insane?!
Wednesday, Apr. 07, 2004 : 5:50 p.m.
Yesterday D and I were half talking, half joking about going to Fenway on Friday to check out the Opening Day festivities. We both have the day off (his office is closed; I�m taking a personal day) and we have nothing else planned. Showers are forecasted for Friday so it�s possible the game may not get played, in which case, Saturday�s game would be Opening Day! =:-0 That would be incredible. If that were the case, we started wondering if they would keep the pitching rotation intact or if they would skip Arroyo and still have Pedro pitch on Saturday. And, if Saturday does end up being Opening Day, it will definitely be worth freezing our butts off for. And believe me, I�ve got a lot of butt to freeze off.

On the subject of lots of butt, I�ve got to get back to work on getting rid of mine. I�ve recently been inspired to get back on track with the Weight Watchers program after reading fattomato�s diary. I joined WW back in late January with a couple of women I work with. I�d dropped 15 pounds but fell off the wagon a couple of weeks ago and quickly gained 5 back. Grrr. I�ve developed a ranch dressing habit, so that hasn�t helped. However, I discovered Hidden Valley ranch dressing mix, so I can make it with light mayo and skim milk rather than buy the nasty tasting bottled light dressing. The ranch dressing habit surprises me because I�ve never been keen on it. Anyway, the message board I frequent has a diet/exercise thread that I�ve joined and we�re going to be starting a race around the world � adding up exercise miles to get to our destinations. Should be cool. Think it�s the thing I need to get my butt back into the gym on a regular basis. Now to find a pedometer.

Yesterday was a nice, quiet day. Spent most of the day on the couch with Babs. She and Buster love it when we�re home during the week. Every morning Buster tries his best to get me to stay home. He flops down in front of the door and rolls from side to side, tempting me to rub his belly, keeping me from leaving, and looks at me as if to say, �You know you want to stay home and play with me.� Yes, honey, I do.

Mr. Schilling gave a superb performance yesterday. The email update I got from the Red Sox this afternoon had the headline �Schilling thrilling in Red Sox debut�. As if anyone had any doubts about that in the first place! Babs helped me watch the game yesterday. She was zonked out on my lap through the 6th inning. She was like a little mother hen yesterday. Every now and then she�d stretch a paw up to my face, take a few pats and look at me as if to say �You okay, mom?� She�s so cute.

Not surprisingly, my department was dead yesterday. It�s been quiet for several months now. No complaints about that, though. We�re still being told they�re going to move us to the new location soon. They�ve been telling us that since early October. I�ll believe it when it happens. The new location is almost the exact same distance from home as our current location. Only bummer is that I won�t be able to wimp out and take the train in when the weather�s bad. I get picked on when I do that but hey, after my accident on a bright, clear, sunny day last June, I�m not taking my first brand spanking new car (it's a Mazda 6)... ...in over 10 years out in the snow if I don�t have to. Especially considering the way people around here drive in the snow. ::shudder:: They drive poorly enough on good days.