quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

We're Insane
Friday, Apr. 09, 2004 : 7:24 p.m.
We went to Fenway today. It was nuts, as expected. But it was also fun. We tried to swap in our tickets for tomorrow and next Thursday's games for something today, but by the time we were almost to the ticket window, today's game had sold out. ::sigh:: We briefly considered talking to a scalper, but the thought of that makes me very nervous. We were eavesdropping on some conversations of other folks trying to get tickets for today and apparently if the scalper won't provide ID, you don't do business with him. Interesting. Besides, the scalpers were charging $150 for bleacher seats. BLEACHER SEATS! They normally go for $20!

Only one real annoyance happened to muss up the day a little - standing in line waiting all that time got my back hurting pretty bad. My lower back is one of the areas that got messed up after my car accident last year. I was almost in tears a few times. And people kept stopping to tell us (and those in front of and behind us) that tickets were sold out, or asking us why we were standing there (we were all still in line to do exchanges/purchases for future games) and I was getting really testy with them (I get really bitchy and more sarcastic than usual when I'm sick or in pain). To get away from the questions and to try to loosen up my back a little, I started walking while D waited to do the ticket thing, and went across the street to the souvenir shop and picked up an awesome hoodie that I'm going to wear tomorrow, provided I can still move when I wake up! If I hadn't started walking when I did I think I would have ended up flat on the sidewalk screaming in pain in about 5 more minutes. Silly me. Ah, but it was worth it. It was a fun day! When we got off at the Kenmore stop, we were walking by a bank that had a jazz band playing outside and people were dancing to the music. That was cool. Opening Day definitely has a different atmosphere. I really like it. People were rowdy and having fun, but it was tame rowdiness. Not like when the Yankees are in town.

No real plans for Easter. As it stands right now, we're staying home. I bought a small ham and some potatoes (going to make garlic mashed) for our own small Easter dinner. Might make a chocolate cream pie, too. Yum. My mom's recipe. It rocks.