quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Easter Guilt
Sunday, Apr. 11, 2004 : 8:36 p.m.
It was a quiet day today. Neither of us really slept in. We were both up and about a little after 7. I'm feeling guilty because I didn't go to Mass today. Frankly, I haven't been to Mass since the Memorial Mass for my grandmother back in January. I've been having some issues with the Catholic Church. Join the club, I know. What makes me feel even more guilty about not going to Mass today was lying to my mother when she asked, "So did you go to early Mass today?" Ummmm, yeah mom. At first I thought, "I'm in my 30's, mom shouldn't be asking if I go to church every week or not." Then I think, "She's just being a typical concerned mom. It's not worth getting upset over." God knows what's in my heart. He knows the struggles I'm having right now and I bet He's a little miffed with the Catholic Church right now, too. I haven't been a Catholic for that long. I converted shortly before all the pedophile scandals surfaced. Recently, the church I attend when I do make it to Mass was in the news for showing an anti-gay marriage movie, but they didn't show the movie after Mass, or on a night during the week - they showed it DURING MASS. If I'd been at that Mass, I'd like to think I'd have gotten up and walked out. How can a church that covered up pedophile priests for so many years condemn gay couples who genuinely love one another for wanting to marry? And what business was it of this particular church to show that movie during Mass?!