quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

They like me! They really like me!
Wednesday, Apr. 21, 2004 : 7:27 p.m.
Yesterday sucked. Most of today was okay but started to suck around 2 o'clock. Had a fantastic interview yesterday with a mortgage company. Definitely one of the best interviews I've ever had. I talked today with the headhunter who got me the interview and she said the guy I interviewed with "love, love, loved" me. They want to bypass second interviews because they want me. I've been going back and forth with the headhunter all day long about salary. Seems that because I didn't spend the money to get a piece of paper saying that I was qualified to push papers, I can't make as much money as others and, therefore, can not ask for what I asked for. That's complete and total B.S. Too bad. I've been doing admin work for 14 years, I more than deserve a decent salary. They can get me close, but they can't get me exactly what I want. So I'm trying to round up all my expenses and figure out where I stand and what I'll settle for. Everything happened so fast and the headhunter chick wants an answer NOW NOW NOW. Well, I'm not going to give her an answer NOW NOW NOW because I need time to think about it. My last conversation with her was at 3:30 this afternoon. I told her I needed the evening to go over stuff and I'd give her a call in the morning. So at 5:15 my cell phone is ringing and it's her! I didn't pick up because I was on my way out the door to see my personal trainer (yeah, yeah, I'll get to that later). So not even 2 seconds later, my land line rings and lo and behold, it's her! LEAVE ME ALONE AND LET ME THINK IN PEACE! She must have called 6 times within 2.5 hours asking me the same freakin' question "If you had to give an answer on salary right now, what would it be?" Every time I gave her the same answer "I can't give you that answer right now because I don't know!" Either she's clueless, or I'm an idiot, or she's a clueless idiot. I don't know. But I'm NOT going to get rushed into this. For God's sake, it took me 45 minutes to get there yesterday morning for the interview! That means I'd be spending 1.5 hours every day just in the car. I don't know if money is worth it.

ARGH!