quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Sweet!
Saturday, Apr. 24, 2004 : 6:42 p.m.
So last weekend the Sox took 3 out of 4 from the Yanks at Fenway. As of today they've taken 2 games so far out of 3 from the Yanks at Yankee Stadium. It makes one giddy! Too bad they couldn't have done this last year in the playoffs but, hey, it just wasn't their time I guess. I think D's right when he says if the Sox had a bullpen last year they'd have run away with the division. Well, this year they've got the bullpen. However, I think their division is quite a bit tougher this year than it was last year. The Orioles are a force to be reckoned with.

Well, I've decided to not take the job with the mortgage place. They did ultimately end up offering me what I asked for, but other things came in to play that turned me off. The headhunter chick got more and more psycho on me. When I got in touch with her Thursday morning she tried to make me feel guilty for not returning her calls Wednesday evening. She said they talked well into the evening about it and had to convince them that the money was worth it. First, if they're not convinced I'm worth the money, screw them. I'm worth more than what I asked for. And second, I didn't realize that 5:15, when she first tried to contact me about it, was well into the evening. You wouldn't believe how much I had to fight just to get her to let me call the guy I interviewed with to go over some things I had outstanding in my mind. She wanted to know what concerns I had. So all I told her was that I was expecting a 2nd interview and I would be much more comfortable at least being able to talk with him on the phone about a few things. She just couldn't seem to fathom it and stalled it as much as she could. I'm wondering how, exactly, she got into the business because she's not very good at it. So I finally got to talk with the guy on the phone again for about 15-20 minutes and the nagging question I had in the back of my head was confirmed. During my first interview he commented on overtime and that people there "don't watch the clock", come in early, leave late, etc. While I was talking to him again on Thursday, he mentioned it again and I'm thinking "Why am I settling for a salary based on 40 hours if I'm going to be working 50 or 60 and have a crappy drive there and back home every day?" So I called psycho headhunter lady's office at about 10 o'clock Thursday night and told her I wasn't going to accept it after all. She never contacted me yesterday. Doubt she will at all. And it doesn't bother me one bit!

I was going to start writing how it's going w/ the personal trainer, but the buzzer for my dinner just went off and since I'm ready to eat my shoe, I'm going to go eat my chicken instead. :-)