quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Stress and survival
Thursday, May. 20, 2004 : 5:53 p.m.
Well, I'm almost half way through the vacation insanity at work and have made only a few minor mistakes along the way. Hurray! Whoever decided it was a good idea for people in my little department to take their 2 week vacations back to back should be shot. Oh yeah, it was the big boss. And guess what? She's not around either! She's not on vacation, she's just working out of our other office now. I can't even begin to describe the chaos this creates. At the same time, without her in our office we can focus more on our work. So it's good and bad. I'll focus on the good. SHE'S NOT THERE! WHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

Even without the big boss around the past couple of days, I can still feel my blood pressure on the rise this week. I'm nearing meltdown, really. 58 days until my own vacation.

"Will stressed out kitty lady go crazy before her vacation? PLACE BETS NOW!"

Here are a couple of things I do to help relieve the stress:

Defend Your Castle

Bubble Wrap!

The castle game is brilliant. Nothing lowers the blood pressure like throwing little stick men high into the air and then listening to the sound of them grunting out their last breath as they hit the ground in a bloody heap.

Surprise anniversary party for D's parents is this Saturday. Come rain or shine! I'm making a couple of chocolate strawberry truffle pizzas to take. These things are to die for. For any poor soul who stumbles in here, I am sharing the recipe in an attempt to apologize for how much my diary truly sucks.

Strawberry Chocolate Truffle Pizza
1 package refrigerated sugar cookie bar dough
1 12 oz. package semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup whipping cream
1/2 tsp vanilla
4 cups strawberries, hulled and halved

Preheat oven to 350�F. Line a 14-inch pizza pan with aluminum foil.

Cut cookie dough and press into pizza pan. Smooth dough together to form a crust with a �-inch rim. Bake for 8 to 9 minutes, or until golden brown.

Meanwhile, combine chocolate chips and cream. Microwave on HIGH for 90 seconds, or until melted and smooth. Stir in vanilla. Drizzle over baked crust. Arrange strawberry halves on top. Refrigerate until chocolate is firm, about 30 minutes, before cutting into wedges to serve.

Serves 8.

I also whip up the remaining whipping cream and serve it with the pizza.

Okay, I'm off to kill more stick men. Happy Thursday! :)