quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Drugs are bad, m'kay?
Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004 : 4:46 p.m.
I heard today that Lollapalooza has been cancelled due to poor ticket sales. Kids don't know what they're missing. Metallica and Soundgarden were the headliners way back when I went to Lollapalooza. I also got to see The Ramones and Rancid play on the same stage - that was freakin' awesome. And you know what? For the life of me I can't remember who else played that day. I was... oh, how do you put it... lightly toasted - okay, a little more than lightly - for most of the day. It's funny because I really hate the stuff. Call it peer pressure because I didn't want to look like a geek (I know better now), so took a hit every time it got passed around. And just like Bill Clinton, I inha... uhhh... I mean... I didn't inhale. The entire group of people I went with had about a year's supply of it with them and just kept passing it around. It's difficult to describe how I feel when I'm under its influence. It's like I'm Two-Face, only one side is extremely paranoid and the other side doesn't give a rat's ass about anything and just wants to let loose and have a good time. And all while those two sides are battling it out my sober voice is waaay in the back of my head, stomping its foot and saying, "I do NOT like this!"

That's why I don't like the stuff. And the smell is just nauseating. Plus, when you're under the influence, you search for something to eat and can't figure out what happened to the 2 big bags of Doritos and 3 boxes of Little Debbie snack cakes you just bought and were on the counter just 20 minutes ago. And that's just wrong. M'kay?

24 more days until I'm at the beach. I can feel the sand between my toes already. Ahhh.

Had a dream last night I was smoking again. I quit about 3 years ago. I didn't smoke a lot. A pack would last me 3 or 4 days. Now that I don't smoke, either I can't stand it when others around me are smoking or I breathe deeply. There's no in-between. And I don't drink much, but when I do, to this day I still want a cigarette when I have a drink in my hand.

Today is my sister's birthday. Happy Birthday, Big Sis! She's 39 today. Doesn't seem possible. I sent her a couple of e-cards and am going to give her a call tonight. I'm hoping she and her husband will head to the beach with us for at least the weekend next month. If so, I'll give her her present then. If not, I'll send it home with my nephew. I don't have it yet, but know what I'm giving her.

Well, our air conditioner is away for repair. D called the shop again on Monday and they finally returned his call yesterday. They came in today and there's a leak of some sort somewhere that they couldn't fix here, so had to take it back to their shop. If it wasn't under warranty I'd say screw it, let's just go buy a new one. This is day #5 without it. Our place gets so stinking warm in the summer. We're on the top floor, so we've got a nice, hot, tar roof right above us, and all the hot air from the useless people on the floors below us. Well, one of them isn't useless. He's one of the few we like. Anyway, we barely have to turn the heat on in the winter. When we do, it's usually set no higher than 60 or we roast. Kind of like we are right now, only in winter it can be controlled. I feel bad for the cats. We've been brushing them more than usual. Every little bit helps, right?

Okay, I'm melting. Time to go make an iced tea.

Later.