quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Stuff
Thursday, Jul. 01, 2004 : 7:01 p.m.
Before I write anything else, and even though they will never read this, I still have to say:

Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad!

Today is their 42nd anniversary. To this day my dad still calls my mom his bride. How sweet is that? I called them a little earlier and they spent the day at the museum and had lunch out. Glad they had a nice day.

Well, I've decided that if my upcoming 2 weeks of vacation go as slowly as the past 2 weeks have, I just might come out of it refreshed! Cross your fingers and toes.

D and I got home from work last night to find someone parked in our spot, so D left a brief note stating that the visitor's lot was to the right, numbered spots are for owners and tenants, please take note, etc. Nothing in the note was nasty - D's not that kind of guy. In the meantime we parked in the visitor's lot. This morning when I left for work I noticed a crumpled up piece of paper and a pack of cigarettes right in the middle of our parking spot. I can only assume the piece of paper was the note D left and the pack of smokes was an additional childish reaction by the person who parked there. I have two words for this: GROW UP. Those who don't live in a condo/apartment style setting may think it's dumb to leave a note over a parking spot, but parking spots are just one of many reasons we pay condo fees. And we get only one spot. When we have visitors, we always tell them to park in the visitor's lot. Everyone else can kindly do the same; otherwise we will either leave a nice note on their windshield or just have their car towed. If it happens again, we won't be nice. :)

Sometimes I get really tired of being a nice person. Like right now. My buttons can be pushed just so many times, and the newbies around here are pushing them all, every day. I feel bad because my entries here make me come across as this negative bitch monster. But this is the only place I have to let off steam. It's either this or go out and get drunk every night. This is cheaper.

btw, did I mention that when the 4 a.m. horn honkers picked up The Kid on Sunday morning, after The Kid got in the car the 2 "adults" picking him up sat in the car for another minute or so shouting expletives at one another?

Good times.

I'm going to attempt to remember what I wrote about on Monday before Microsoft ate it all. I clicked on a link in an email and rather than opening up in a new window, it opened up in the window I had my diary entry in. Brilliant.

Had mammogram #2 and the ultrasound on Monday. When the woman who did the ultrasound was finished, she took the prints to be read and then came back with the doctor who read them. That made me a bit nervous. They found several more spots on each side in addition to the one I can feel. The doctor explained that the shape of the spots they found indicate fibroadenomas. I'll enter one of the briefer google results on this in a moment. He also said that the shape indicated they weren't cancerous (Thank you, God), but that for my age they weren't typical. He didn't feel the need to do a biopsy but wanted me back in 6 months to check on them. After he left, the woman who did the ultrasound told me that if he had any inkling at all that they might be cancerous he'd have done a biopsy right then and there. She also told me that my doctor might want a biopsy done anyway. Ugh! And now I don't have to say anything to anyone in my family about it at all! No one needs to be worrying when there's nothing to worry about.

"Fibroadenomas are small, solid, rubbery noncancerous lumps composed of fibrous and glandular tissue.

Fibroadenomas usually appear in young women, including teenagers. The cause is unknown.

The lumps are easy to move and have clearly defined edges that can be felt during self-examination. They may feel like small, slippery marbles. These characteristics indicate to a doctor that the lumps are less likely to be cancerous. Nonetheless, to be sure that they are not cancerous, the doctor usually removes the lumps. A local anesthetic is used. Fibroadenomas often recur. If several lumps have been removed and found to be noncancerous, a woman and her doctor may decide against removing new lumps that develop."

I also learned that diet plays a big part as well, so am hitting the Schwarzbein book a little harder now.

When I asked the ultrasound woman if I should keep an eye on these spots she told me they were too deep for me to feel. She also told me that if I wasn't comfortable with the knowledge that they were there that I could have them removed. I'm okay with it for now and am going to hang tight until December.

We still have no air conditioner. We've now been 2 weeks without it. I'm surprised the pictures on the walls haven't melted. D called the repair place on Monday and was told our a/c needed a part that was on order. They said if it came in by today they would be able to work on it tonight. So, he's calling them first thing tomorrow morning to see what's up. If we don't get it back tomorrow I just may go mental! It's the only a/c we have. Last night I was so warm my fingers were swollen. Just before we went to bed I had my head stuck in the freezer. D said, "You can't sleep in there." I said, "Wanna bet?!" The cats seem to be handling it better than I thought. They lay sprawled out on the floor near the fan most of the time. We've been brushing them a lot more than usual and keeping ice in their water fountain.

Wanna see a pic of my fantabulous 4th of July nails?

I did them all by myself, thank you very much! :)