quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

I'm Baaaack
Thursday, Jul. 29, 2004 : 7:40 p.m.
Well, my body may finally be back at home, but my mind sure isn't. Vacation at the beach was nice. It wasn't as uproarious as last year, that's for sure. Have a few stories to tell, but still need to upload pics and stuff. We came home last Friday, picked the cats up from the vet and were told that they gave our carriers to someone else by accident. They told us that the person who had them was bringing them right back. Right. It's been a week and there's no sign of them. I'm thinking we'll never see them again. I wouldn't be ticked if we hadn't left t-shirts in the carriers for the kids when we left them for boarding, so we're down 2 carriers AND 2 t-shirts. The vet at least had the decency to cut our boarding bill in half. Every year when we board them, they screw something up. This is the first year they've actually apologized and given us money off. The only time we have a problem with our vet is when we board and thankfully we board them only once a year.

Slept hard Friday night, did a little unpacking and a little grocery shopping on Saturday morning, then we were off to the Sox/Yankees game. D was nodding off by the second inning. Then THE BRAWL happened. Wish we'd had the wits about us to get pictures. That was the first time I've been at a live major league brawl. It was pretty wild! Believe it or not, we left the game in the top of the 5th inning. We were so incredibly tired. The beds at the beach house had as much support as a trampoline, so neither of us slept well at all. Couldn't believe that by the time we got to the car (took the Green Line in - no way I was driving to Fenway with all the DNC people arriving!) the game was still in the 6th inning! Got home and immediately turned the TV on to watch the rest of the game. We both "WOOHOO"'d so loud when Bill Mueller hit his home run in the 9th that the cats ran and hid for about 5 minutes afterwards. What a game. We fell asleep shortly afterwards! Got up Sunday and headed to NY to spend some time with my family. Got there around noon-ish. By 5 o'clock I was over at the ER with my sister, brother-in-law and nephew as my nephew was having severe chest pains. We're still not 100% sure what's going on with him. The muscles surrounding his left rib cage were inflamed and they think he may have hurt himself at work. My sister rode in the ambulance with my nephew and my brother-in-law and I followed in my car. He had to drive because I was having an anxiety attack. Great way to start my stay there! Thank God he's okay, and that it wasn't a heart attack, which is what we were afraid of because the pain was going down his arm. He couldn't breathe in without severe pain until they gave him oxygen in the ambulance. They still don't have an answer as to what's going on with him, but they're getting to the bottom of it.

Monday my mother and I spent roughly 3-1/2 hours at the eye doctor. His appointments always run late, but that was crazy. I like him a lot though. Been going to him since I was about 8 years old. And he's a Red Sox fan. :) He sat right down and wanted to hear all about Saturday's game! lol

Tuesday was spent just shopping with Mom and my niece, M. We had a nice time. Poor Mom had such a headache, though, so when we got home we decided to just have leftovers for dinner. So, she heated it up for my dad and left the rest out for me. Well, both of their cats decided that it smelled pretty tasty and helped themselves before I could get to it! We couldn't stop laughing.

Wednesday I had to plan my departure around the DNC. They've been closing down 93 and parts of 95 from 4 pm to 1 am. D told me I should plan to be home by 3. The morning shaped up so that I ended up leaving earlier than I planned and was home by 1. D was surprised I got back home at such a decent time. And although he'd never verbally admit to missing me, I know he did. ;)

I can't believe how quickly the past 2 weeks have gone. Don't feel like I'm ready to snap anymore, so that's a good thing. And since I've rambled on long enough and am tired of looking for and fixing typos, I'll save what I've got left for later.

Peace.