quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Back to Reality
Monday, Aug. 02, 2004 : 5:44 p.m.
And it sucks eggs! Next time I'm away from work for a few days, I'm putting in a hidden camera nearby to find out who keeps messing up my desk. I pity the fool who messes up my desk!

Our weekend was full of farewells. Most notably, and most quickly, was Nomar Garciaparra. I think I was shocked only because it happened mid-season with no warning. I was convinced, as I think maybe many others in Red Sox Nation were, that he would play out the rest of the season here and then go elsewhere during the off-season. I'm amazed the Boston media never got wind of this before it actually happened. He will be sorely missed. I am, however, more hopeful for the Red Sox future with the club's new additions. We've traded one fantastic defenseman for three (excusing Cabrera's error yesterday). And as for Derek Lowe, he's lucky. Jerry Remy said before the start of Saturday's game that Lowe was sweating bullets, thinking he was going to be traded. Good! Even when he pitches well, I'm not a fan of his. Can't explain it. I'm just not.

Our other farewell is to the Spicolli family, who've lived in the unit directly below us for the past 2.75 years. We won't miss their incessant door slamming, screaming, fighting around the clock, wall kicking or smelling their pot and cigs. They started moving their stuff out on Friday - while there was a manhunt for an abductor going on, mind you. There were helicopters hovering almost directly over our building looking for the guy, and the Spicolli's had the security door wide open. Greeeaaat. We figured they'd be gone by the end of Saturday, since it was the last day of the month. Ha! No such luck. As I type, they're still moving crap out of there and, as far as I know, have left the security door open all day. It boggles my mind how much crap they're still moving out of the place. I'm trying to figure out where on earth they had all this stuff. Do we have secret storage compartments in these units that I don't know about? Anyway, I'm praying fervently that someone normal and quiet moves in once they're finally gone. Call me crazy, but I'm tempted to sprinkle a little holy water on their doors once they're finally gone.