quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

To Work In Boston or Not?
Friday, Aug. 20, 2004 : 8:13 p.m.
Monday morning after meeting with the new recruiter, I'm sitting on the train waiting to head back home and there was a delay. All the conductor said was, "Sorry folks, there's a minor delay. We should be leaving the station in about 5 minutes." 17 minutes later we finally pulled away from the station with no explanation as to what caused the delay. During the delay, the paranoid side of me started thinking about 9/11 and how Boston would react if it came under attack the way NY and DC did. How would train commuters get home if anything happened to the train stations? What type of security do they have in place in the city's train stations to keep everyone safe? It's no secret that security is still a joke at Logan. I've never flown before (yes, I'm almost 34 and am an air travel virgin) but when I do, I sure as hell am not flying out of Logan. With the ever-looming threat of more attacks, do I really want to be heading into Boston every day? Then again, do I really want to live my life in fear of something I have no control over? Do I want to turn down the possible job of a lifetime (hey, you never know) because I'm afraid to work in town?

Then I remember one night in October '01 we went for coffee after dinner at one of the 3,287 Dunkin' Donuts in my town with my friend C and he ordered the "anthrax donuts". The guy behind the counter just gave him a blank stare. On one hand, I was wanting to crawl under the table and was thinking, "Okay, we're (Americans) a sick lot. All we do is mock serious stuff." On the other hand I was thinking, "At least C hasn't lost his sense of humor!" Guess the point I'm trying to make (to myself more than anyone else) is we've got to make the best of what's going on around us. We can't let our lives come to a screeching halt because of something that might or might not happen. And we need to keep our sense of humor, sick or no, no matter what!

So, if I'm offered a good job in Boston, I will not be afraid to accept it.

And now I'm craving a white powdered donut.

P.S. C, I've still got that nifty, neat-o, groovy glow-in-the-dark Halloween pail the anthrax Munchkins came in!

P.P.S. Manny Ramirez just hit a Grand Salami! WOOHOO!!