quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Happy Birthday To Me
Tuesday, Aug. 31, 2004 : 5:38 p.m.
Some co-workers got a blueberry coffee cake for me this morning from the best bakery around. It was delicious and many of us went back for seconds. I enjoyed it with a cup of mostly decaf coffee. It really hit the spot.

In spite of the dreary weather, my attitude has been pretty up today. Yesterday I was ready to cry at the drop of a hat every time I thought about today. Ever since my aunt passed away, it�s been a bit of a tough time of year for me. She would have been 64 on 8/27. Plus there�s small, minor stuff happening to the left and right of me that�s making me pretty frustrated and upset right now. And there�s also the sudden and tragic loss of Donna�s husband, Marvin. All of these combined has really had me heavy hearted over the past week or so. When I went to bed last night I kept saying to myself, �You�re going to enjoy tomorrow. You�re going to wake up happy and thankful to be alive.� So far it�s mostly working. :) And even though the forecasters said there�d be nothing but rain today, the sun kept peeking through all morning and made its presence more consistent throughout the afternoon. I kid you not, the first time the sun peeked through this morning, it felt like God was giving me a great big hug and telling me everything would be okay.

D�s taking tonight off from volleyball. He just called to let me know his train broke down so he'll be a little late. He sounded cranky. Hope it's just because of the train and not because he's not playing volleyball tonight. Think we're going to NYAJoe's for dinner. I love their olive oil/garlic/hot pepper/parmesan dip and focaccia, and spicy caribbean buffalo wings. Then again, the Outback has this killer chocolate tower cake. D and I always ration our meals there to save room for that cake and between the two of us we can never finish one serving of it.

Made myself an appointment for a mini-pedicure and a manicure tomorrow after work. It�s my present to myself. Hoped to have it done today but the woman who did my nails last month isn�t in today. She did such a beautiful job that there�s no way I�m going to anyone else. Usually the only time I get my nails done professionally is just before vacation, but I really feel like treating myself to it again. Summer is waning fast (not that we had much of one to begin with) and I want to keep my toes out there for as long as possible.

Everyone's been calling me today. It's nice. Except when I'm on one phone and the other rings and then my cell rings. I never know whether to have who I'm talking to hold and pick up the other calls or just keep talking. Don't want to be rude.

Well, if I'm going to pick D up at the train station I'd better get a move on.

Have a pleasant evening!