quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Playing catch up
Sunday, Sept. 26, 2004 : 9:19 p.m.
Okay, so it's been a week or so since my last entry. Many apologies. Thank you, mackaj, for your note. You're right - it's a wake up call, not just for the person it happened to, but for the entire family. I hope your dad is doing much better now.

This stuff seems to be much scarier when you're younger. Especially when the doctors can't pinpoint a cause. My sister and brother in law are hoping that once his bloodwork comes back it will shed more light on what caused his stroke. The doctors are still uncertain about what the abnormal area on his brain is. They've run 2 cat scans on him so far, an MRI and a few other things, though I can't remember what.

When I talked with him yesterday, he said he wants to go back to work this week! He's insane. His spirits are good, though. I've talked to him twice over the past 3-4 days and he's able to hold a conversation. There are moments when he struggles to find the words he wants to say, though, and talking for too long exhausts him and he starts to slur a little. If people speak too fast, his mind can't keep up and it agitates him. He can't watch news debates for that reason. And he still has small "episodes" - sudden light triggers migraines and causes his throat to close. Here's hoping that bloodwork comes back before his doctor appointment this week. He's got another appointment with a neurologist in mid-October.

There's really not much else going on at the moment. We went to the last Sox regular season home game today against the Evil Empire. My man Schilling kicked their sorry butts. It was an awesome game, and many people didn't want to leave the park when it was over. I was one of them. We took a ton of pics today which I'll share later as I'm too beat to do any resizing, etc. And am too beat to share many of the incredible things that happened during the game. There's nothing like 30k+ people taunting "Jeeeterrr" in unison. Or singing along to "Sweet Caroline". Or screaming at the umps to throw out the Yankees pitcher for throwing at Dave Roberts' head, after both sides had been warned at the top of the inning. Oh, and someone took our pic for the fan gallery on the Sox website! It's not a very good picture of us though so I'm not too inclined to share.

And I'm not so sure I'm going to have a voice tomorrow, either. :-)

Okay, I've got a lot of diary reading to catch up on.

Be well.

Be good.

Hugs to all.

Goodnight.