quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Just sitting here with a cat on my lap, putting off what needs to be done
Thursday, Sept. 30, 2004 : 7:28 p.m.
I did it! I avoided Honey Dew and its deliciously evil pumpkin spice coffee this morning. I drove to work a different way to avoid it. Instead, I got a cinnamon coffee from Dunkin� Donuts when my co-worker stopped by my desk on her way there to ask if I wanted anything. *heavy sigh* That�s $12 this week that could have been used for something more useful, like, say, a few yards of fabric, or a frame for a Christmas present I�m giving. Yeah, I�m thinking about Christmas already � no need to tell me I�m sick, I already know.

And speaking of my other coworker, she was giving #2 serious shit today (HA! I swear that wasn�t intentional) about filling Sorority Girl�s position. I heard her say, �You deserve what you get. You�d be better off moving one of us (i.e. her or me) into it and you know it. I hope whoever you hire quits within 3 weeks.�

Yowza!

My friend E, whom I�ve been going to Mass with lately, has been thinking about moving to Baltimore. She had a couple of interviews there last week (one of them offered her the position on the spot), as well as one in Boston. I�ve been selfishly praying that the one in Boston would pull through and she�d take it. She�s the only single friend in this area that I have (everyone else that I get along with around here is married with kids), so I didn�t want her to leave! Well, she emailed me this morning to let me know the place in Boston offered her the position. She called them this afternoon to accept it. Hurray! My Red Sox/Mass/scrapbooking buddy is staying here! I�m very happy for her. I would have been equally happy for her if she�d taken one of the jobs in Baltimore, but I�m glad she�s staying around here. Besides, my hairdresser wants to set her up with someone. Anyway, now E�s after me to get more diligent about finding a job in town. I feel like John Kerry when it comes to a decision about working in Boston � I decide I want to, then change my mind the next day. The day after that, I decide that I want to again. Until I decide a few days later that I don�t.

Hey, that reminds me. The first debate between Bush and Kerry is on tonight. I�m not inclined to watch it. Besides, I�m going to be busy doing last minute stuff around my place before my cousin�s here. Our computer/guest room also unfortunately doubles as the room where everything goes so the rest of the place stays clean, so I need to straighten things up in here. Won�t surprise me if it takes all of this evening and part of tomorrow evening to clear up the clutter. Right now we�ve got a king size bed in here (we�re downsizing it to a queen � soon, I hope), along with 2 desks and 2 short file cabinets. My desk is piled high with paperwork I need to file, and there�s a bunch of stuff on the cabinets that need to be put away as well. Plus, the cats love to sleep on the guest bed (when there isn�t stuff piled on it, which fortunately right now there isn�t), so I need to wash the bedding as well. The rest of the place just needs some minor touching up. I�m also debating pulling out my fall and Halloween decorations tonight, too.

And here I sit making an entry instead of getting to work.

Also still have to decide if I want to make ham and garlic mashed potatoes or chicken divan for dinner tomorrow night.

D sent me this link the other day. It�s a questionnaire that�s supposed to help undecided folks choose a presidential candidate. I decided to take the test for the heck of it � see if the candidate I�ve already chosen came in at #1. He did, but with a score of only 33%. The other prominent candidate came in way down on the list with only 5%. Sucks to be him.

Hey, you know what? I almost fell asleep at my desk at work today. I�ve got to stop going to bed so late. And I�ve had a cramp in my right butt cheek all day, too. What on earth could possibly cause a butt cheek cramp?

I�ve been thinking about getting OnStar in the next vehicle I purchase. It won�t be for a few years, yet, but it�s still something I�m considering. In the meantime, I�m thinking about having one of these installed.

Okay, enough stalling. I�m off to straighten this place up. But before I go, how about these apples?