quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Hopelessly Devoted
Monday, Oct. 11, 2004 : 8:02 p.m.
I pledge allegiance...

This article is a bit long, but truly captures the many emotions of a Red Sox fan. It's a good and funny read. I found myself nodding in agreement many times, laughing in appreciation and sighing over memories I wish would go away.

Last year at this time I was serving jury duty. All of us on the jury, the lawyers and the judge, were dragging our butts into the court every day because we were all staying up to watch the Sox games. After the second or third day, the lawyers started buying us all coffee in the morning.

And I'll never forget how quickly D turned the TV off during game 7 of the ALCS last year. The ball wasn't even out of the park yet when he shut it off. He said nothing. I said nothing. We went to bed in complete shock. I felt like I'd just been punched in the stomach and yes, I cried before I finally fell asleep.

But you know what? That was last year. And just to give you one reason why we all have renewed hope for this year, here's a quote from Curt Schilling that just makes everyone giddy with anticipation:

"I'm not sure I can think of any scenario more enjoyable than making 55,000 people from New York shut up."

Yeah, baby! YEAH!

A friend of mine just emailed to let me know she has tickets to Sunday's game. I can't begin to tell you how jealous I am. Happy for her, but jealous nonetheless.

Bitch!!

j/k ;-) HAVE FUN!

D's playing volleyball tonight. He typically plays on Tuesday and Thursday evenings, but with the ALCS starting tomorrow night, he's decided to play tonight so he can watch the game tomorrow. We're going up to the bar he and his volleyball buddies frequent every week to watch it.

Oh, and I met with the candle lady today instead of tomorrow. NO WAY was I going to miss the game tomorrow for candles! I'll talk more about the candle thing later. Right now, I need to go see how the Braves/Astros game is going.

Pleasant dreams.