quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

And it all happened before 9:30 this morning...
Tuesday, Oct. 12, 2004 : 5:57 p.m.
Today was an angry day. Stopped to get a cup of joe this morning and while backing into a parking spot, I smacked into the big concrete post that keeps you from backing into the road. Thank God it didn�t leave a dent in my car. Got into work and the server and a bunch of other stuff had been updated over the weekend so no one could get into anything to do any work. Finally got that figured out but had to delete all the cookies in the meantime so we could get logged into one of the new updated systems. BUT, when all the cookies were deleted, no one could get signed in to log their time. It was crazy. And the big boss called on something I did for her � only she didn�t call me for clarification, she called someone else, who had to come to me to get the answer. Why didn�t she just call me? She does this all the freakin� time. I don�t understand why. Also, the tech VP came into our department to introduce the new guy to everyone and completely blew by me on his way in. On his way out he kind of hesitated and then said, "Oh, have you met...?" I said, "Ummm, no." with a hint of annoyance. Thought that was pretty rude. AND to top it all off, a revised version of the ad for the HR position went out saying they wanted someone with �relevant HR experience�. Which I felt was a slap in the face. So many things that I do and have done are HR related, but because I haven�t actually worked in an HR department, no one wants to consider me. It�s their loss.

But it still pisses me off. Over the weekend I held hope that I had a chance at that position. Now I don�t.

I�m thinking about this candle stuff more and more, too. The thought of being somewhere I�m not familiar with at night time really bothers me, though. That�s the one thing I can�t get past. I�ve barely even told anyone that I�m thinking about it and already 4 people have told me they�d do a show for me. That�s cool. But will any of these people�s friends book shows as well? That�s a concern, too. I�m going to talk with D about it during the week, go over figures and stuff, see if it�s worth it. Talked with my mom about it a little earlier, too. She's very uncomfortable with the idea. Over the years I've learned that when my mother is uncomfortable about something, or has a bad feeling about something, you'd better pay heed. Her intuition is scary.

She did, however, encourage me to get back into decorating cakes and stuff. She thinks I could make a decent small side business out of that. I'm going to think about it. Some day I'll post a few pics of stuff I've done in the past.

The only thing that put a smile on my face during the day today was the thought of Curt Schilling whipping Yankee butt tonight. I can�t wait. Only 2 hours and 22 minutes to the first pitch.