quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Baseball rantings
Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2004 : 5:04 p.m.
So during the 3rd inning of last night�s game I turned to D and said, �So, who are these guys in Red Sox uniforms and what did they do with the real Red Sox players?� I started to wonder if pod people were invading and started their take-over with the Red Sox. And when the real Red Sox showed up, I wanted the option to keep the Curt Schilling pod person for myself.

D shut the TV off in the 6th inning. I said, �You know they�re going to rally.� He said, �I know, but they�re going to do it whether or not we watch... so I�m going to sleep.� I fully expected to wake up this morning to a Red Sox win. That�s how confident I am about this team � and it�s something I couldn�t have said last year. But, I did think I was going to have a heart attack during the first few innings.

And I�m tired of hearing that the Yankees have never lost a Series when they�ve won the first game. You know what? There�s a first time for everything.

And I really don�t know what to say about many of the events that took place in last night�s game other than, �Hey, that�s baseball.�

And I wish sports announcers (specifically Boston radio sports announcers) would stop whining about why last night Schilling didn�t say, �I can�t pitch tonight.� You know why he didn�t say that? Because he�s pitched with his ankle in that shape before and did just fine, you idiots. He obviously felt last night wasn�t going to be any different than any other night he�s pitched in pain. And please STOP laying all of last night�s unpleasant events on just him. The team as a whole didn�t wake up until the 7th inning. How many times did Ramirez watch a gorgeous pitch blow by him for a strike? Talk about that, for God�s sake.

I'm not a fan of Boston sports radio and typically don�t listen to it. Just can�t help it this week. It�s a sickness and they�re infecting as many people as they can. Bastards. I love when Schilling calls in, though (my friend E alerts me when he calls in - and I don't know how she can stand listening to Boston sports radio day in and day out). And I especially love it when he calls in and rips them all new ones.

God, I love that man.

And oh how I would love to massage that ankle of his. Had a very nice dream about him last night, too. *sigh*

Good thing D�s not jealous. Probably only because the man�s happily married. lol I felt so bad for him last night, though. If he wasn�t married... and I wasn�t with D... I�d have driven to NY last night in a heartbeat to console him.

Jeez, I sound like a giggly junior high school girl. Sorry.

Okay, I think I�m done with my baseball rant (and fantasies). For now. ;-)

And I stand by my Sox in 6 prediction.

Oh, just one more thing. What did we do to deserve Tim McCarver as one of the announcers for the ALCS? Somebody please shove a sock in his mouth. If he announces the World Series I think I�ll shoot myself.

P.S. I can't believe how many Google hits I got from Schilling's quote about shutting the Yankees fans up.

-------------------------------------------

9:30 PM (middle of the 4th)

Update on Schilling's condition. :-(