quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Hey, I think it's Friday
Friday, Oct. 15, 2004 : 3:39 p.m.
Not sure I�m any more coherent today than I was yesterday. As tired and headachy as I was last night I couldn�t fall asleep so curled up on the couch in the living room with one of the cats and watched the game out there. Next thing I knew D was walking through the door saying, �Hey, sleepyhead�� He asked what time I fell asleep. I had no clue, but last I knew the Cardinals and Astros were tied at 4. He hated to tell me the bad news. Oh well. The main reason I want the Astros to win is so the Sox can kick Roger Clemens� butt. And I still can�t believe they played last night�s game in the rain. Don�t agree with that at all.

Curt Schilling called in to WEEI yesterday to clarify some things. My friend E gave me a heads up but I actually already had it on. And while I�m thinking of it, I should clarify that it�s mainly the Big Show that�s on in the afternoon that annoys the crap out of me. Dennis & Callahan, Dale & Neumy, are alright � it's the guys on the Big Show that make me want to throw my radio through the window. Anyway, between the general Sox updates and Curt�s call into the station, we all now know a lot more about what�s going on with his ankle. D and I were talking about it on Wednesday (before we knew what was really going on) and I wondered if they numbed his ankle up too much and he was afraid of pushing it. D said if he couldn�t feel the pain, he�d push all the harder. Had a �duh� moment when he said that. The Dirt Dogs have a a transcript of Big Schill�s call yesterday. Scroll down to where it says "The Schill Is Gone" to read it, should you so desire.

D bought Jerry Remy's book �Watching Baseball�. Plan to start reading that this weekend. D�s reading the final Dark Tower book, so hopefully I�ll have time to read Remy�s book before he�s done. He�s a fast reader. He also bought a scorecard from the 9/26 home game against the Yankees. That hasn�t arrived yet, though.

Feel like I�m coming down with something. I�ve been sneezing a lot and have a very dry, itchy cough. I also have very, very mild asthma (another reason to resist the call of nicotine when I�m stressed) and am wondering if it's necessary to use the inhaler. Suppose I should at least try. I need the inhaler maybe twice a year. #2 let me leave early today. That was cool. Went to the store to get some Gatorade before I came home � I crave the stuff when I don�t feel good. Glad it�s the weekend so I can sleep in and pretty much just pretend I'm a sloth. Got a migraine last night too and remarkably slept most of it off. That�s doesn�t happen often. Probably was able to this time because I got into bed as soon as I saw the telltale sparkles. D�s able to make himself throw up to get rid of migraines. I�ve tried and just can�t do it.

I�ll blame the migraine on the Red Sox. lol Don�t give me any more migraines, dammit!

I�ve been doing a lot of emotional grazing this week, too. I�ll blame that on the Red Sox, too! There�s a lot of other stuff going on, too, but I�ll blame it on the Sox anyway. hah. I�ve admitted before that I�m an emotional eater, and it doesn�t matter if I�m happy, depressed, anxious, etc. Food soothes me. Maybe I�ll start drinking instead. Lord knows we�ve got enough booze. It amazes me how much we have and how little of it we drink.

A woman I know at work went to see all the carved pumpkins at the Roger Williams Park Zoo in Rhode Island last weekend. She took this picture just for me!

How awesome is that? I hope to get there to see them all before it closes. Haven�t mentioned it to D yet. We�re contemplating going to the haunted mansion in Abington, but I�m such a wuss that I don�t know if I can handle it. The woman who took the picture of the Frodo pumpkin for me has been to the haunted mansion and said it was wicked scary. To give you an idea of how much of a wuss I am, 2 years ago I sucked it up and finally watched the movie �Halloween�. Figured if I was going to watch a horror movie, it may as well be a good one. I ended up having nightmares for 3 nights in a row. One of them involved Babs, who turned out to be Michael Myers� cat, and she was trying to kill me. I have a knife similar to the one used in that movie and in the dream I had that knife and kept stabbing her with it but she wouldn�t die. I was bawling my eyes out because I didn�t want to stab her, but as soon as I stopped stabbing her, she would come after me again. When I woke up she was right next to my head staring at me like, �What�s wrong, mom?� I couldn�t stop crying.

So, no more horror movies for me. Suspense is okay � I love Albert Hitchcock movies � but no way can I watch another horror movie.

And I should never tell my friend E about that dream. She�s afraid of cats.

Told #2 yesterday that I applied for the job in HR. He said I�d be good at it. That was encouraging. Especially after the conversations we've had over Sorority Girl's position. Still haven�t told the big boss yet. Don�t know when I will.

I'm not holding out much hope that Game 3 will be played tonight. The forecast isn't a pleasant one.

Going to go crash on the couch and play a little Star Wars.

Happy Friday!