quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Decent day, despite lack of sleep
Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2004 : 4:54 p.m.
When I got to work this morning the woman who let me in said, �Oh, you have lipstick on this morning! You don�t usually wear lipstick.� I said, �Actually I wear it every day, it�s just usually a neutral color.� I had a very dark maroon color on today. She said, �Well, the darker lipstick brings out even more of your beauty. Keep wearing it!� I could have hugged her. It was such a nice thing to say, and such a nice way to start the day.

Why can�t men say stuff like that? What�s in the Y chromosome that prevents them from voluntarily offering a compliment? Fishing for compliments from men doesn�t work either. I gave up asking D about makeup and clothes a long time ago. All I get from him is the typical male shoulder shrug followed by, �I dunno.� It used to infuriate me until I realized all men do it. When a man says he doesn�t care, what he really means is he doesn�t care. And because men don�t care, women get stuck making many decisions; decisions that men may not always like but have no problem complaining about. If men started caring a little more, taking a little initiative and making some decisions, they could do a lot more things that they want to do and not just what women want to do. So, men, until you start pulling your weight with the decision-making, quit your bitchin�!

:-)

Honestly, though, I don�t think D�s ever complained about any decision I�ve made. He gets frustrated when I can�t make up my mind, but if it�s an instance where he could decide as easily as I could, I will bring it to his attention. Even then most of the time I still end up making the decision.

Hey, how �bout those Red Sox? Hope that super-dee-duper high-top sneaker works for my man tonight. D sent this to me at work today:

A prayer for the magic shoe

There once was a magic shoe,
designed by Reebok in a day or two.
For Game 6 of the ALCS,
For a dude named Schilling, who's ankle was a mess.
Everyone thought the ace's season was finished,
high Red Sox hopes were quickly diminished.
Then came the magic shoe.

Oh magic shoe, oh magic shoe,
From now until 8:19 p.m., we pray for you.
After Game 1, the Nation had never felt weaker,
all that has changed because of one super sneaker.

It's come down to this, two games in New York,
Sheffield's got a big mouth, Matsui's a dork.
And Reebok, if this works out and we win in the end,
I promise: I'll never, EVER, buy Nike again.

- By Chris Rattey, The Lighter Side

One thing I know � the Sox have got to stop playing late night/early morning extra inning games. They�re turning us (and themselves) into the walking dead. Appropriate for this time of year, but dudes, we need to get some sleep and keep our jobs. I need to take a nap before tonight�s game starts.

In work news: There�s still no sign of an interview with HR. In the overall job hunt, a recruiter for one of the big mutual fund companies in Boston called me last night. She�s checking some schedules and is calling me back tomorrow to set up a time to meet. The salary range she quoted for the particular position I�ll be interviewing for absolutely floored me. It�s awesome. Here�s hoping.