quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

It's Election Day!
Tuesday, Nov. 02, 2004 : 5:15 p.m.
Well, here it is. Election Day. I was going to pick D up at the train station when he got home from work tonight, but he got on an earlier train and we figured it�d be easier for me to just swing in and vote on my way home from work. He might be playing volleyball again tonight (he played last night because he wasn�t going to tonight. Ugh.) so he�s going to vote before he plays. I�m glad we agree on a lot of stuff. I�ve tried my best to keep mum about the election and my political views here, but have to admit I�ve had a pit in my stomach the entire day. I�m nervous. Every time I think about what the outcome could be, I want to throw up. Though I�m not fond of either candidate, I�m afraid this country is going to elect dumber over dumb. And it scares me.

I�ve had the song �Election Day� by Arcadia (a.k.a. most of Duran Duran) running through my head all day. Found it on Rhapsody so I can get it out of my system now.

And now that it�s November it�s time to start thinking about the holidays. But I don�t want to think about the holidays. Is it wrong of me to not want to have to go anywhere this year? To not have to deal with the holiday traffic and worry about the weather/driving conditions? To not have to worry about making sure I visit the 837 people that want to see me within a 24-hour period so they don�t get pissed at me (especially when it would be much easier if they just all came to visit me at my parents house)? Just once I�d like members of my family and D�s family to say to us, �Hey! How about we have Thanksgiving/Christmas at your place?� I would jump for joy. What a relief it would be. But then I feel guilty for thinking that way, especially with all the stuff that�s going on in my family. My BIL�s stroke; my dad getting whacked in the head. Have I talked about Dad�s head injury? I don�t know. Life is so upside down lately I�m lucky I know who and where I am half the time.

Sorry if I�m repeating this � a couple of weeks ago, my dad was on a ladder at work trying to reach something in storage and instead a 30-pound drill saw ended up falling on his head. It then fell to one of the stairs below him and broke the stair. He was bleeding everywhere, couldn�t see through his glasses because they were covered in blood and he proceeded to drive himself to the ER, where they didn�t even take an x-ray! They just stitched him up and sent him home! WTF?! He�s had a few episodes since then � slurred speech, drop in body temp, body going limp � that they thought were diabetes related, but his sugar was fine. His doctor had the bright idea of sending him for a cat scan to check out the area his head was hit and lo and behold, there�s a bruise there and the doctor is concerned there might still be some bleeding in/on the brain.

I really just want to cry. And it makes me so angry that my employer won�t let me take the day after Thanksgiving off so I can spend some time with my family. They know what�s been going on. They know my family�s in another state, but, oh, too bad, so sad.

Sometimes I really hate that place.

And this damn cold/flu/whatever the heck I have won�t go away. It just keeps morphing. D said a lot of people in his office have it and say it�s tough to get rid of. I want it gone, dammit! It�s getting on my nerves. I�ve been taking extra vitamin C, B-complex and multi-vitamins, eating chicken soup (it�s all I�ve wanted, really), drinking Gatorade � nothing�s really helping. Enough already!

We found out Friday night that the Red Sox parade route had been expanded, but we still decided not to go. The weather was lousy, we both felt (and still feel) like crap, plus D had a dental appointment and the condo association had scheduled the alarm company to go around checking everyone�s fire alarms. We just had too much going against us to go. That�s alright. We�ll go to next year�s parade. ;-) Watched it all on TV, though. Couldn�t believe the throngs of people there. It was insane. What really surprises me is that the city of Boston is still standing. In my very first diary entry I predicted Boston would be reduced to ashes within 24 hours of the Red Sox winning the World Series. Thankfully I was wrong. Unfortunately I think the tragedy of the college student dying after the last game of the ALCS had a lot to do with it.

Well, I have to go put dinner in the oven. Don't think I can stomach watching Election coverage. Think it's going to be a Star Wars night.

Later.