quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Relationships and other stuff
Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004 : 5:43 p.m.
A woman at work has found herself to be with child. It�s a crazy situation. Her boyfriend joined the Army and is supposed to head for boot camp in February. It�s my opinion (and of a few other co-workers) that she got herself pregnant on purpose in an attempt to get him to marry her and/or get him to change his mind about the Army. Thing is, the Army isn�t going to let him change his mind, and I don�t think she ever understood that. Anyway, she found out just a few weeks ago that she�s pregnant. She and her boyfriend started making wedding plans, but yesterday he told her he had no feelings for her and didn�t want to get married, so they�ve broken up. Now, I have to say it�s also my opinion that this guy is one of the biggest, laziest, slacker douche bags I�ve ever seen/known in my life, so I don�t know why I�m surprised he said what he did to her. I�ve no doubt he�s just too lazy to want to deal with a wife and a baby, so it�s easier to just dump her. On the whole, she�s a nice kid, and I hate to see her get hurt like this. Why am I talking about this (other than the fact that he�s ripped her heart out and that pisses me off)? Because it upsets me that this coward is joining the Army. He obviously isn�t capable of taking responsibility for his actions. And he�s going to be a member of the military? Am I the only one who sees the irony?

I wanted to give her a big hug, but being at work and knowing a hug would make her cry even more, I couldn�t. I probably just should have anyway. In spite of the fact that she's got a lot of people around her who will support her, I'm sure she feels very alone right now. And the fact that this guy is such a lazy, insensitive bastard really makes me angry and I�m afraid that if, in the unlikely event, I see him, I�ll strangle him. She�s bent over backwards for him - helped him get jobs that he�s pissed away; took out money she didn�t really have to tie him over to the next job. So he's screwed her over financially, too. She asked me, �What am I supposed to tell the baby about his/her father?� I said, �You tell the baby he/she was Immaculately Conceived. If this is the way he�s going to be, he�s got no business being in this baby�s life.� She told me I was psycho. I didn�t care. He�s a slime. He doesn�t deserve the honor of being a father.

This all got me thinking about the large difference of opinion D and I had, not quite 2 years ago now. No, I wasn't pregnant. Sheesh. I hate to admit that things he said that day still make me angry when I think about them, and to this day I still second-guess a lot of things. The difference of opinion has been sitting like a little black kernel in the back of my mind ever since. And no, I�m not the type who keeps throwing what he said during that discussion back at him now. I sit, stew, wonder and overanalyze everything instead. Now I just take things a day at a time and am thankful that he and I are together. I love him, and that's not going to change.

Had an interview with the mutual fund company last Wednesday. I gave the recruiter a call today (thank goodness D reminded me!) to see where things stood. She said they're still going through Round 1 of interviews, but that I'm on the list for Round 2 and to give her a call back next Friday. So, in the meantime I'm going to send thank you notes to the women I interviewed with.

D recently mentioned looking around for a new place to live. We've discussed it in passing before and even looked at a few rentals in the event we put our place up for sale and it sold before we found another place to buy. Never found anything we were pleased with so didn't pursue it. I think it's different this time, though. He even mentioned he's seriously considering giving up his seat on the Board of Trustees. That really surprised me. The thing about this place is, we both completely love the unit we live in, it's just everyone and everything around us that we're incredibly dissatisfied with.

Well, I need to finish straightening up around here. My sister and brother-in-law will be here tomorrow for a couple of days. Here's hoping all goes well with his doctor appointment and they get him in for surgery by the end of the week.

Hug your loved ones. Let them know how much you love them.