quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Relief
Saturday, Nov. 13, 2004 : 8:46 a.m.
My sister and BIL got here around 11 on Wednesday morning. We had time to drop their stuff off at my place before we caught the train into town. His appointment wasn�t until 3, but since the train schedule wasn�t very accommodating, we ended up going in a few hours early. We arrived at the hospital between 1 and 1:15. By 1:20 they were already doing an EKG and taking blood. When he was done with that they took him into an exam room where he waited for the cardiologist for maybe 10 minutes. I�m very impressed with how efficient and friendly the whole place is. After about an hour or so with the cardiologist, the neurologist went in for about another hour, and then the two of them collaborated for I don�t remember how long. We left the hospital around 4:30, I think. We were all thankful that they took my BIL right in because if they hadn�t, we would have easily been there until 6:30-7 that evening. If we weren�t going to be able to catch D�s regular train home, he was going to come meet us at the hospital. At any rate, what the doctors decided is they�re going to do that new surgery with the tubes and stuff to repair the hole in his heart and not do actual open-heart surgery. That�s a relief. And, the big thing is, he does NOT have another clot in his heart. The cardiologist back home told him he did. The cardiologist in Boston very nicely said the other guy was a quack. I can�t tell you how relieved we all were to hear there wasn�t another clot. There were a few options for him regarding the hole in his heart, and he and the doctors agreed that repairing the hole would be the best solution for him. So, they�re going to schedule the surgery for soon after Thanksgiving. The doctors said they�ll probably schedule the surgery for a Tuesday morning, they�ll keep him overnight for observation, release him Wednesday and he can go back to work on Thursday. How incredible is that? Modern medicine really blows my mind sometimes.

So they stayed over Wednesday night and went back home Thursday morning. We got Chinese food from our favorite Chinese restaurant Wednesday night and sent the rest home with them. We ate a lot because none of us had eaten since breakfast, and even that wasn�t much. We were all too nervous beforehand to really eat. I was surprised we had as many leftovers as we did to send home with them. After we ate we all zoned out on the couch flipping channels on the TV and catching up on everything going on.

�Bridget Jones�s Diary� was on TBS Thursday night. It�s one of those movies I�ve always wanted to see but never had. Since D was off at volleyball, my place was almost spotless and the weight of my brother-in-law�s condition had been lifted, I curled up on the couch and watched it. All I have to say is where the heck has Colin Firth been all my life? How could my radar not have picked up on this gem many years ago? I�m not a film junkie (as many people I know are), so am certain that�s why it took me so long. I�m completely smitten. Yum.

It snowed last night. Hurray. Don't have snow tires on my car yet so I'm not overly enthused. We actually thought it was all going to stay north of us, so imagine our surprise when we woke up to a winter wonderland. The cats were sitting in the living room window this morning observing the new scene outside.


The snow has put me more in a Christmas mood than I already have been, even though Thanksgiving isn't for a couple more weeks. I've been hunting around for a Christmas template here, and have been listening to Christmas music since before Halloween. I'm sick, I know. I just LOVE Christmas so much. D and I are thinking more about donating to families in need rather than exchanging gifts with our own families. We all have what we need so why not help families who don't?

I think it's a pancake morning. I'm going to go make some breakfast. Have a great day! :-)