quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Surprise
Tuesday, Dec. 07, 2004 : 5:45 p.m.
Say hello to the new Human Resources Executive Administrative Assistant.

No, really.

I�m still in shock.

It�s weird. Yesterday I completely forgot to do something that I do every single Monday. I don�t know how or why I forgot, but I did. To avoid my boss having a meltdown, I went into work early this morning to do it and email it to her before she even got in. About 8:20 the HR Director came downstairs, peeked in, mouthed the words �Are you alone?� I said yes, so she came in and said she wanted to offer me the position, would I like to accept? Well, YES! It�s not going to be much more money than I�m making now, but that�s fine. I don�t have actual HR experience yet, it�s still going to be a little more pay than I make now AND my yearly review is coming up in February, so I�ll be getting a little more then, as well. I knew there was a reason I didn�t get the job at the mutual fund company in Boston. Oh, I never mentioned that, did I. Well�

I finally caught up to the recruiter last Monday to find out if they knew yet when 2nd interviews were beginning. The recruiter told me that they�d already hired someone. I was stunned. How on earth did things go from �You�re on the list for 2nd interviews, we�ll be in touch� to �Sorry, we�ve already hired someone, but we�ll keep your resume on file�? I was pretty upset after I hung up the phone. Cried for a few minutes. D gave me a big hug and said they sucked anyway. lol I felt like an idiot because I told myself all along that if I didn�t get that job, I wouldn�t get upset about it because I still wasn�t keen on the idea of working in Boston, and there I was, crying because I didn�t get it.

Everything happens for a reason.

Poker was pretty fun on Saturday night. I�m glad we went. Talked with D�s parents a little bit about Christmas Eve. At this moment, we still have no clue what we�re doing, but know that his parents are singing at the 4:30 Mass on Christmas Eve. I�d like to go, but if we�re not staying over at his parent�s house on Christmas Eve, I�d rather go to Mass here and then head up there Christmas morning. Guess we�ll know better when we get a little closer to Christmas.

Okay, my brain�s on overload and can�t function anymore today. Time to turn on some Christmas shows or Christmas music and put the decorations up.

Have a wonderful, quiet, warm evening.