quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Odds 'n' ends
Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005 : 6:53 p.m.
Here it is, almost the end of the workweek. I�ve been very busy all week but feel I�ve accomplished nothing. I didn�t have a computer in HR until 4 o�clock Wednesday afternoon. Still don�t have a phone at that desk. Being without a computer and a phone made me feel like I was working in the Stone Age. Also made me realize how much we take those things for granted.

One resolution I should be considering on top of those listed this morning is �be more open and honest in my diary�. That�s what it�s here for, right? I�m actually considering starting a physical journal as well. Whether it will just complement this one or replace it completely has yet to be determined. Sometimes I�m afraid to say things here because I don�t know how they�ll make D feel. I still don�t know if he reads this and if he doesn�t, anything that I say I don�t want him to hear second hand if I haven�t already talked with him about it. Sometimes I need to get it out somewhere (namely here) before I can talk to him, and sometimes if I get it out, I don�t need to talk to him. Make sense?

Fortunately the roads weren�t nearly as bad this morning as I expected. To be safe I took the main roads in to work. I had only a � tank of gas in the car so decided to fuel up on the way. Gas prices have finally dropped, hallelujah. Hope they stay down. Stopped at a gas station that�s got a Dunkin�s inside. There�s a French dude that works in there who�s always very pleasant, and not unattractive. I go in there only a few times a month but he always recognizes me. This morning when he was handing me my change, he put his hand in mine and then spread his fingers open along the inside of my hand to drop the change in. It could have been deliberate; it could have been my imagination that it was intentional. Either way it gave me chills. Good chills. Chills that made me really look forward to getting home to D tonight. Amazing how a simple touch can trigger so much.

New Year�s Eve was a lot of fun. We got to D�s volleyball buddy�s house around 7:30 and didn�t leave until around 1:30 or 2. Played poker most of the evening and watched Red Sox and Patriots DVD�s most of the night. We switched to regular TV long enough to watch the ball drop in Times Square, toasted the New Year with some champagna and then went back to playing poker and watching sports stuff. We were amazed that their little boy was still awake come midnight. He was so cute, he took all the streamers he could find and decorated us all with them. I�m pretty sure he was still awake when we left. I turned into a pumpkin soon after midnight. I remember D nudging me and telling me to go lie down on the couch, but I was afraid I�d fall asleep and start snoring in front of all these people I barely knew, so stayed awake at the table as best I could.

I touched on this a few entries ago, but am mentioning it again. I always feel such a sense of loss when Christmas is over. Advertising creates this rushrushrushbuythisbuythat everyone�sgoingtohateyouifyoubuythemthewrongthing atmosphere that prevents people from enjoying the holiday and once it�s over, you feel as though you never got a chance to experience and enjoy it. Marketers should be ashamed of themselves and to them I shout, �Stop forcing holidays on us! We can enjoy them and prepare for them without having them shoved down our throats, thanks. And while I�m at it, STOP KILLING THE CHRISTMAS SPIRIT. You bastards!�

While I�m on the subject of holidays and having advertisers shove stuff down our throats, whom do I petition to end the meaningless celebration of Valentine�s Day? I hate it, and I know many others who do as well. I admit I could be swayed into enjoying it, but since that�s not likely to happen, I will continue to loathe the �holiday� with every ounce of my being. Did I mention that I saw Valentine�s Day stuff out a couple of weeks before Christmas? That is so wrong on so many levels.

All of a sudden my checking account is off $5. I looked and looked but couldn�t find the discrepancy. I swear sometimes the bank just takes money out to see if I�m paying attention.

Almost time for Alton Brown. After that, I might go to bed. I�ve been so tired all day. D getting up early every morning this week has seriously cut into my sleep! Thank goodness tomorrow�s the last day he has to go in early for the foreseeable future.

Have a pleasant, peaceful evening. :-)