quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Hey look, I remembered how to make an entry!
Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005 : 10:04 p.m.
Haven't been here in a week. A whole freakin' week. And it's been a crazy one.

I had every intention of updating here over the weekend but we spent a majority of our time doing some pre-spring cleaning. The weather was gorgeous over the weekend. Temps were in the mid to high 40�s. We had the windows open all weekend long. It was wonderful. Getting a good burst of fresh air in the house always puts me in serious cleaning mode. The computer/guest room has been neglected for quite some time. It�s where everything gets put when we don�t know where else to put it. We�re not completely done cleaning it out, but it�s a heck of a lot better than it was. We�ve disposed of 6 garbage bags full of crap already. There are desks in here. And a bed! I also tidied up the pantry so I can actually see what I have in there. We have a lot of soup. Anyone want some soup?

Poor Miss Babs isn�t feeling well. She had to spend Monday at the vet. I noticed Sunday night she wasn�t herself. She was very lethargic. She also didn�t spend the night in her usual spot or go through her usual routine with me the next morning. I picked her up, put her on my lap and she didn�t move. Typically she flips and flops and finally gets comfortable just about the time I have to get up and into the shower. I also realized her whole body felt warm. I called the vet and they got her in with an emergency appointment at 8:45. Her temperature was 103.5. Cats regular temps are anywhere between 101 and 102. My poor little girl. The vet let her come home Monday night and had already started her on antibiotics. They also gave her the cat equivalent of aspirin. Her fever was down to 102.5 when I picked her up and it seems to be back to normal now. She�s still not herself, though. The vet called when her blood work and urine sample came back and said her glucose # was high and she may be diabetic. He did say that glucose #�s go up due to stress and that she was very stressed on Monday. Nooo. I've never had a cat who hated going to the vet as much as she does. She hates it with a fiery hate! So, the vet wants me to get a urine sample from her here at home and bring it in to be tested again. How am I supposed to do that? By putting styrofoam peanuts in the litter pan, of course. But, since we have 2 cats, how do I know I'm getting the right stuff from the right cat? A stake out! What fun! One of my co-workers who's never had a pet asked if I had to strap a plastic baggie around her until she went. It took a few minutes to stop laughing.

This was supposed to be the last week I had to bounce between departments at work. Wouldn�t you know it, the Big Boss, who hasn't even uttered a "Congratulations" to me for getting the job in HR, all of a sudden needs me to do something for her on Monday. When my new boss told me about it and asked if I minded I wanted to ask her to tell Big Boss to shove it up her ass. btw, have I mentioned how wonderful my new boss is? It's a breath of fresh air working with her. I talked to her this morning about Big Boss's request and told her how annoyed I was by it. She told me she knew I was annoyed and assured me that this is the first and last time that Big Boss is going to get away with it.

Did you hear that sigh? It was an 'It's wonderful to have a good boss for a change' sigh.

My brother-in-law's heart surgery is scheduled for Tuesday. It's amazing that doctors can perform a procedure like this now without opening up the chest cavity. He has to have blood work done on Monday, so he and my sister, and possibly my nephew J, are coming out on Sunday afternoon. D's taking Monday off to take them to the hospital to get the blood work done and said he'd probably take them to the Museum of Science afterwards. I love that man. I'm taking Tuesday off to stay at the hospital with my sister. Wednesday is still up in the air because we don't know for sure yet if they're keeping him overnight and if so, what time they'll release him.

Well, it's Lent again. I thought about scaring D and telling him I was giving up sex. I didn't do it. I�m such a wimp. I�ll scare him next year. ;-)

Time for bed. Sweet, pleasant, passionate dreams to you all.