quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Stupid list time!
Thursday, Mar. 24, 2005 : 9:47 p.m.
Now that I�m working in HR, I�ve had the opportunity to peruse many resumes and cover letters. Some of the cover letters I�ve seen have inspired me to make a list of do�s and don�ts for anyone out there who�s currently looking for a job or who may be thinking about it. Disclaimer � while I compose my list based on actual cover letters I have viewed, and even though many of these do�s and don�ts may be common sense to many, they still may not reflect the opinions of my employer � this list comes completely from my standpoint.

I present to you: �Becky�s List of Cover Letter Do�s and Don�ts�

DO NOT begin your cover letter with the greeting �Dear Sir Madden�. To the best of my knowledge, John Madden does not work at my place of employment, nor has be been knighted.

DO NOT begin your cover letter with the words, �Hello, my name is�� because people such as myself will expect it to be followed up with, ��Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.� So if you can�t come up with something better than Inigo�s line, find something else to say.

DO NOT make blatantly sexist comments unless you want your potential employer to know you�re a sexist asshat ahead of time in which case, make as many incriminating remarks as you�d like.

DO NOT use phrases such as �eagerly excited�, �uniquely excited� or �psychotically happy� when referring to your excitement/pleasure over applying for what appears to be the perfect position, or with a company you�ve been dying to work for. Just plain old �eager� or �excited� will do fine all on their own.

DO PERFORM THE SPELL/GRAMMAR CHECK WHEN YOU HAVE COMPLETED YOUR LETTER. I cannot emphasize this enough. No matter how careful you are writing your cover letter or how many times you re-read it, something can and will be overlooked. I speak from experience.

DO NOT end every other sentence with an exclamation point.

DO be sure to correctly spell the name of the person you are submitting your resume to. No one appreciates his/her name being butchered. If no name is provided in the job�s ad, �Dear Sir or Madam� and �To Whom It May Concern� are perfectly acceptable greetings.

DO let the employer know where you saw their advertisement for employment. If it was in a newspaper, let them know which one. If it was on monster/hot jobs/whatever, let them know. Also, monster.com is NOT monsters.com, monsters.inc or �the monster�. �The Monster� is reserved for the Green Monster at Fenway only.

DO pat yourself on the back. It�s okay. Really. You know you can do the job. Make sure your potential employer knows it too. Just don�t be obnoxious or sound like a commercial.

DO be sure, whether applying by email or just providing your email information, that you have an email account that is �[email protected]�. If you don�t have one, make one. Don�t use your �[email protected]� or �[email protected]� address. A good first impression those do not make.

--------------------

Hey, I know where Ty Law lives! As does everyone else who lives around here. Drove by his house Tuesday evening. I had no clue it was his until my friend mentioned it. It�s beautiful. I want to be his neighbor.

--------------------

D�s at our destination. He went down earlier today. I�m leaving work tomorrow at 2 to head down and we�re staying until some time on Sunday. His first match was at 7 this evening. He called me around 8:15 saying, �I got my butt kicked by a 12 year old!� He�s a bit rusty. Hasn�t played in 2 years. He�s got 2 matches tomorrow and Saturday and I think one more on Sunday so there�s still time to stand well.

--------------------

The ear infection from hell came roaring back this week. By the time I went to bed last night the entire left side of my head ached. Started another round of antibiotics last night. Hurray. I hate taking those things. I�m still not 100% sure I�m going to head down to meet up with D tomorrow. Might wait until Saturday morning. Going back to the ENT doctor on Tuesday for a follow up.

--------------------

It snowed again last night. So far the snow totals around here are 4 feet above normal. Even though the calendar says it�s spring, we all know we won�t be out from under the threat of snow until July. Then we�ll suffocate from the heat for 2 months and in September it�ll start snowing again. But, I�ll take it over earthquakes and tornadoes any day.

--------------------

Well, I still have much to accomplish before I can even think about going to sleep tonight so I�d better stop being a sloth.

--------------------

Have a great weekend! Happy Easter! :-)