quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

The Pope, chess, baseball and more Jezebel related talk
Monday, Apr. 04, 2005 : 5:44 p.m.
Although we�ve all known for some time that the Pope�s health was failing, his passing is still a great loss. Although I�m not at Mass every single week and am far from being the poster child for Christianity, I still feel a void now that he is no longer with us. Not only did he staunchly enforce the laws of the Catholic Church, never swaying to appease those who criticized him, he also strove to bring peace to our chaotic world. As I pray for the Pope, I also pray for whomever his successor will be. He�s got some mighty big shoes to fill.

Mass on Saturday was special in that not only was it for D�s grandfather, but it was also for the Pope. I thought the priest seemed emotional at first but quickly gained composure.

I plan to set the alarm early on Friday morning to watch the funeral.

--------------------

We found out D placed 8th in his class in the chess tournament Easter weekend. He was 3rd going into Sunday morning�s match, but lost. He�d decided ahead of time that if he won that morning he�d stay for the 4:30 match; if he lost, we�d go home. His rating went up more than he wanted it to and put him into the next class up. He wanted to win some money before he was thrust into a higher level of playing.

The card tables were mobbed that Saturday so I didn�t even bother trying to play any of them. I�m not big on slots but figured what the heck and played a few. Ended up winning $40. I stopped playing after that.

--------------------

The Sox are off to a rip-roaring start! Okay, maybe not. Honestly, I didn�t expect them to win last night. If anyone other than Johnson were on the mound for the Yankees last night then, yes, I would�ve expected the Sox to win.

So we went up to the cinema pub in town to watch the opening game on the big screen in high def last night. I guess towards the end of the month they�re going to start showing Sox games every Tuesday night for the entire season. Guess where I�ll be on Tuesday evenings during baseball season?

--------------------

Got an email from one of D�s family members on Friday in reference to Jezebel. One of D�s uncles talked with D�s dad about everything late last week and sent an email stating as much to D�s family member who forwarded it to me. I then forwarded it to D, who responded that he�s glad that things are starting to come out now and that �no one has to hear anything from us, since you got sucked into this against your will anyway...� He�s absolutely right. I told him that part of me is flattered that his family felt comfortable enough and trusted me enough to discuss this with me but at the same time, like both D and his dad have said, �if someone asks and you haven't seen it/heard about it, you've got nothing to deny.�

Before Mass we spent most of Saturday afternoon with D�s brother and 2 kids. The oldest is 4, the youngest is 1. We played board games with the 4 year old, had lunch and just hung out. I told D ahead of time that if he wanted to talk to his brother, I wouldn�t be offended if he asked me to leave for a little while. I was hoping after Friday�s email that the two of them would talk about it, but they didn�t.

Today it was brought to my attention that now D�s brother has a profile up on match.com. I was asked to not say anything to anyone about it. How can they tell me something like this and expect me to not tell D? When it comes to his family, if there�s something that I know about, I don�t feel right keeping it from him. And who�s to say D�s brother didn�t put the profile up there just to keep an eye on Jezebel or to see if she finds it and says something to him?

Enough! Stop putting me in the middle of this! If you want D or D�s parents to know something, tell them! Please stop telling me!

I�m talking with D about this tonight and am going to ask for his help on how to tactfully ask everyone to stop telling me about this stuff and to start telling him. It�s not affecting our relationship, and I don�t want it to, therefore, they have to stop putting me in the middle of it all.

Argh!