quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Life's back to its normal, boring self. I couldn't be happier.
Friday, Apr. 22, 2005 : 5:22 p.m.
Well, last Monday the Big Boss in my old department admitted to one of my co-workers from that department that she missed me. I should clarify � she didn�t miss me and my rosy personality. She missed the fact that she could arrive in her puff of smoke, drop work on me with little instruction, I�d get it done in less time than she expected with very few questions and/or mistakes, and she could leave in a happier puff of smoke. The woman they hired to replace me, well, she stinks. She's not good at what she was hired to do, and her perfume is vile too. She doesn�t know how to type and knows next to nothing about basic Microsoft programs (Word and Excel, specifically). I�d have a hard time believing she couldn�t type if I hadn�t witnessed it first hand. I had to train her on a few things a while back and it was agonizing watching her type the info in via the �hunt and peck� method. D types that way, but he knows where the keys are and he�s fast. This woman was literally hunting for and pecking at each letter. Oy! Then when I had her minimize a screen, she freaked. She thought she lost all the information it took her such a painfully long time to enter, even though 5 seconds prior I had her save everything. She has a hard time listening to instruction. She locked herself out of our payroll system while I was showing her how to input her time. How? By clicking on a link I told her not to after she asked, �What�s it do if I click this?� I told her what it did, explained to her when it should be used but that this was not the time, and she clicked it anyway. So even after clicking it and locking herself out, she argued with and questioned me about why she had to enter her time the way I showed her.

Um, because if you don�t, you�ll keep locking yourself out and you won�t get paid.

Well, the not getting paid part isn�t true, but it�s what I almost told her just to get her to shut up.

According to her resume she�s performed administrative duties for the past 10-12 years. Either she wasn�t honest on her resume or her past employers were painfully tolerant. And this woman�s laugh. UGH. It�s a cross between a witch�s cackle and a hyena. I wish I were exaggerating.

She really got under my skin the other day when #2 asked me if I remembered something about a particular file we�d been working on before my move into HR. When I told him what I remembered, she said to me, �Yeah, now I have to look for it.� Her tone of voice implied that I didn�t do anything regarding this particular file, so I looked her straight in the eye and said, �I worked on that for 2 months and didn�t find what we needed, so good luck to you.� You stupid, air-headed pain in the ass.

--------------------

When D gets home tonight we�re going deer watching a couple of towns over. Can�t wait. Don�t think I�ve seen a deer since I moved out of the sticks and I miss them.

--------------------

Had an appointment with the ENT doctor this afternoon for the sleep apnea. His office is checking to see if my insurance will cover the sleep test. On the way to the doctor�s office, I was behind a car with a bumper sticker that read, �HONK if you think I�m Jesus�. bwah!

--------------------

Last week I held tickets for every remaining 2005 Red Sox home game for seats in the .406 Club. They were beautiful.

*sigh*

--------------------

On Monday I started eating better and working out again. Dropped 4 pounds already. Not too shabby. The only goals I�ve set for myself are 1) to not be out of breath after walking the incline from the beach to the beach house this July while we�re on vacation and 2) to comfortably walk the beach with D every morning that week without wanting to turn back halfway through. Everything else that happens in between will be a bonus.

Someday, when I get back to my weight of 10 years ago, I might provide before and after pictures. I bet T remembers how much better I looked back then. D�s eyes got a little wide and his eyebrows went up when he saw a picture of me from back then. I didn�t know whether to hit him or kiss him.

--------------------

I just have to mention that I had a day from hell at work yesterday. I mention it only because this week everything is blooming and my drive home was so beautiful that by the time I got home, I�d completely forgotten about how horrible the day had been.

--------------------

The butterfly exhibit is open at the Museum of Science now. We hope to go over the next couple of weeks. Expect pictures when we do.

--------------------

I�m off to quickly shower and get ready for deer watching. Thanks for stopping by. Have a wonderful weekend! :-)