quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Hallelujah, it's Friday! Bring on the Sith!
Friday, May. 20, 2005 : 5:31 p.m.
Irritation of the Day: A certain new co-worker who fails to say �Good Morning� and just launches into what�s already going wrong in her day and wants me to fix it (even though I don�t work for her) before I even get my coat off, punch in and take a sip of coffee.

She can bite me. Really, really hard.

And this time it�s not Perky. However I do have a story about her.

--------------------

Yesterday I was working on a bill and had to add a few items to the spreadsheet I was working in. The final formula was off and I was getting a little frustrated trying to find what part of it was amiss, so decided it�d be best to walk away, clear my head and then start fresh. So I went to my old department to visit for a few minutes and as I was leaving #2 was muttering to himself but then looked up from what he was doing and said to me �Yes, ma�am. How can I help you?� So I said, �You can fix the spreadsheet I�m working on.� Perky hears this (and btw, her name is now Tina because she�s got this spiky 80�s Tina Turner hairdo � everyone�s calling her Tina now, not to her face, of course) and says with a hint of sarcasm, �Oh, you�ve got an Excel problem you can�t handle?� WHAT?! This, coming from the person who called me 87 gazillion times on Monday because she couldn't format a simple Word document?! I slowly turned, doing my best to squelch the rage that suddenly filled my entire being and said, �No, it�s a simple matter of finding where the glitch in the formula is. Don�t worry, I�ll find it.� I then turned, walked out the door, stomped all the way down the hall and back up the stairs to my desk. I immediately called L when I got back to my desk and said, �Did you hear what she said to me?!?!� She hadn�t, so I filled her in. Fortunately by the time I was done talking with L I was laughing about it. I found the problem shortly after I hung up with L so sent her an email that said, �Woohoo! I found it! In your face, Tina!� L was hysterical. I�ve decided that the next time Tina calls me for any help other than HR related issues, I�m going to politely tell her to shove it where the sun doesn�t shine.

--------------------

PMS was off the scale today. If I could have killed only half the people who annoyed the living crap out of me today, there�d be a lot less people on the road and I wouldn�t have many co-workers left.

Today�s saving grace: the new Dave Matthews Band CD. It arrived Monday (along with the wrong size t-shirt � at this point though I�d rather shrink my way into it than return it for the size I ordered) and bit by bit I�ve been working my way through it. Right now, Old Dirt Hill (Bring That Beat Back) is my favorite, followed closely by Dreamgirl, American Baby and Smooth Rider. Those three songs stir the wanton beast within that I tend to keep tucked away. Can�t explain it. The combination of lyrics, music and DM�s voice on these tracks make me want to be his wanton love slave. I�m going to require a different �D� to quench those needs�

--------------------

I also realized today that I really like the music of Paul McCartney and Wings. Every time the radio station I�ve been listening to lately plays one of their songs I find myself reaching for the volume to turn it up. Yes, even for �Silly Love Songs�.

I always get very homesick while I�m PMS�ing, and those Wings songs bring me back to my younger days and being around family all the time. Think that�s why I also really like DMB�s Old Dirt Hill right now.

--------------------

Well, we weren�t able to get a group together to see Revenge of the Sith last night and decided we were going anyway, but D ended up working late. By the time he got home it was pushing 7:30 and we figured a) parking would be a nightmare and b) even if we found a parking spot, by the time we got to the theater we would�ve found out the website wasn�t updating properly and there really weren�t tickets left. So we�re going to try again tonight and if he ends up working late again we�re going to go to the very first showing on Sunday morning.

It�s kind of a good thing we didn�t go last night. The season finale of The O.C. was on, and ohmygoodness am I glad I didn�t miss it!

--------------------

The swollen gland under my ear is finally receding. Unfortunately I can eat solid food again (I won�t tell you how much chocolate I consumed today). The ultrasound on Tuesday afternoon didn�t show a blockage. My doctor mentioned doing a biopsy if the ultrasound didn�t show anything. I don�t think there�s going to be anything to biopsy by the time I get back to her office Monday morning. That�s fine with me, especially since the training tech was pointing out the carotid artery to the trainee and mentioning how close it was to where the swelling was.

--------------------

Google�d some Star Wars pictures last night and found this oh so very hot picture of my favorite Jedi�

He can use the Force on me any time he wants.

For anyone interested, and to give proper credit, I found this gorgeous picture here. While you're there, check out the Darth Vader wallpaper. There should be a caption on it that reads "I am crushing your head!"

--------------------

I�ve been enjoying bindyree's diary so much that I�ve decided to join the fun of the Friday Five. I�ll add this to my links soon. Here are today�s:

1. What made you happy this week? Getting the new Dave Matthews CD in the mail.
2. What made you sad? I missed my family an awful lot this week.
3. What made you angry? �Perky Tina�.
4. What are you looking forward to in the next week? Seeing �Revenge of the Sith�.
5. What are you not looking forward to? Our parking lot getting paved.

That�s all for me today. Thanks for stopping in. Happy Friday! :-)