quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

I'm back... sorta...
Wednesday, Jul. 06, 2005 : 9:02 p.m.
I hope everyone had a safe and happy 4th. On the whole, our weekend was pretty quiet. We went to Georges Island on Saturday and had an absolutely perfect day. I�d never been to any of the Boston Harbor Islands so this was a new experience for me. When D was a kid he�d taken a class trip there one year but hadn�t been there since. Saturday there was some sort of kids� day thing going on and, among other activities, there were demonstrations with water rescue dogs. It was pretty incredible to watch. We toured Fort Warren and took a bunch of pictures. I had no idea the island was even there, much less knew its history. I�d like to go back whenever we can. It was very relaxed and peaceful there.

Here are some of the pictures we took:

Here�s one of the rescue dogs retrieving an oar that had been thrown overboard (she was really supposed to return it to the boat but decided she�d rather head for land).

Her friend was sent to pull the boat back to shore.



Another rescue dog.

A couple of tall boats in Boston Harbor.

The Boston Skyline as viewed from Georges Island.

While we waited for the ferry to take us to the island, D pointed out some high-end condos that are being built and we started to discuss living in the city. He�s mentioned in the past that he wouldn�t mind living in town. When he first mentioned it way back when I thought, �No way, no how would I ever live in the heart of Boston.� But now I wouldn�t mind at all, as long as we were in a nice, safe part of town. Don�t get me wrong, I still miss living in the middle of nowhere with all the peace and quiet but suddenly find myself not opposed to living in the middle of Boston. Funny how we change and don�t even realize it until one day it just hits us on the head. These days, as long as my neighbors aren�t complete morons and deadbeats, I�ll be happy. I could start on a tirade about the rude people across the hall again, especially since I haven�t talked about them in a long time, but I don�t want to waste any energy talking about them. They don�t deserve it.

--------------------

Sunday and Monday were spent watching The Dead Zone (who knew our cute little Geek Boy, Anthony Michael Hall, would turn into such an incredibly hot psychic?) and Monk marathons, respectively, on USA. I�d missed much of the third season of Monk so it was good to catch up on Monday, as the season premiere is this Friday.

--------------------

It�s no secret that the 4th of July is my second favorite holiday, but I couldn�t get as into it this year as I usually do. Didn�t even pull my decorations out until last Wednesday. D and I briefly discussed going to this year�s Boston Pops concert on the Esplanade but decided to stay home. Neither of us is a very big fan of country music (there are a few country artists I like, but won�t admit whom ;-)), and all of the big name performers were country artists (one of whom I do like, but still won�t divulge!). That, mixed with insane crowds, knowing we wouldn�t get home until 1:30 a.m. at the earliest and having to get up and go to work the next day made the decision pretty easy. We also considered taking a drive down to Pawtucket RI to see Curt Schilling pitch a rehab game but knew it would be insane there as well, so we stayed home, caught up on Monk and watched the Pops concert on TV.

Speaking of Curt Schilling, he�ll be pitching at least one more rehab game before he comes back. I hope they�re playing in Pawtucket again and that we can go. A friend of mine in NC got to see him pitch his first rehab start in Charlotte. She has the luck. She said he pitched a fantastic game and received 2 standing ovations.

--------------------

So� what have I been doing during my absence from D�land? Not a whole lot. Since I took those couple days off a few weeks ago I�ve really just been trying to lay low and not let things bother me. After several doctor appointments about the swelling near my right ear (a blocked salivary gland), I was also told that my sleep apnea is moderate (when I sleep on my stomach) to severe (when I sleep on my back) so that coupled with this virus I�ve been fighting eventually proved to be too much for my body, hence the feelings of pending insanity. I�m going back for the CPAP part of the test soon. I�m waiting for my insurance company to cover the sleep center in my ENT doctor�s office, so I don�t have to go back to the one on other side of the scary town that I have to drive through the seedy heart of by myself to get to. In the meantime I�ve been getting as much rest as I can, eating better, exercising when I can, blah blah blah. Mentally I feel much better than I did two weeks ago.

I�ve also decided that I�m not going to let Jezebel�s selfishness ruin my vacation this year. I�ll find out what time she plans on picking up her children and will just be sure I�m nowhere in sight when she shows up. That is, if she doesn�t come up with some lame-wad excuse to not come and pick them up at all. I wouldn�t put it past her.

--------------------

Well, that�s it for this entry. Hope everyone�s having a great evening.

Later.

P.S. Only 10 days until my vacation. :-)