quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Love that warm sand between my toes
Tuesday, Jul. 19, 2005 : 11:07 a.m.
Well, here we are at the beach! Been here since early Saturday afternoon. The place we�re staying is nice. The bathroom is a bit tiny but the rest of the place is a good size. And it�s CLEAN!! Some of the places we�ve rented up here in the past have been real holes. One place we spent the entire first day scrubbing and sterilizing from top to bottom and my skin still crawled the entire week we were there. Needless to say we didn�t spend a lot of time inside that place while we were there. Long enough to sleep, and that was about it. The place we�re renting this year (and hopefully will continue to rent in summers to come) is right across the street from the house D�s parents are renting. They�ve been renting that house for the past 20+ years. It�s right on the sand.

--------------------

The weather�s been so-so since we got here, but we�ve been down on the beach anyway. Today is downright oppressive and there�s no sea breeze, so since the house we�re renting has air conditioning we�re inviting everyone over here for a Texas Hold �Em tournament this afternoon. The humidity is supposed to let up tomorrow, though, and it�s going to be in the low 90�s. Perfect beach weather! The forecasters say the rest of the week will be like that. Tomorrow afternoon we plan to head out to do a little shopping and then watch fireworks on one of the nearby beaches tomorrow night. It�s also a good excuse to get out of here before Jezebel shows up. Supposedly she�s staying for the afternoon. I was talking with a few of D�s family members yesterday and they asked me if I knew when she was coming, so I told them what I knew and they said, �Hmmm� maybe we�ll go shopping with you!� lol

--------------------

I managed to not want to gag and hogtie D�s nephew until this morning. It was about 7:15 and I was still sleeping. He decided it�d be a good idea to burst through my bedroom door even though it was shut. Woke me right up. I was so startled that all I could do was scowl at him. He left immediately and thankfully had the sense to shut the door behind him. He�s 4 �. I can�t wait for him to go home! I�m sorry, but I�ve had enough. Be thankful I lasted this long without getting snippy! Sunday morning he had a temper tantrum and D�s family could hear him across the street. If Jezebel even pulls one of her famous lame-wad excuses and doesn�t come up tomorrow, I�ll have a word or two for her if/when I see her.

--------------------

Think I got bit by a mosquito on my neck while sleeping last night. The area is a little sore and swollen, which has never happened to me from a mosquito bite before. I�m thinking maybe it�s reacting this way because of where it is.

--------------------

Don�t know if I mentioned that I started following the Weight Watchers Points program the Monday following my nephew�s graduation. I�m not going to meetings � they never did anything for me when I did go. Dug out my material from last year and am just following it on my own. Weighed myself last Thursday and was down 15 pounds. That�s encouraging. I�ve been worried about this week, though. There�s a lot of junk food around here. I�ve given in to it a few times, but think I�m still doing okay. Discovered Saturday night that I�m not the only one here following the program. The wife of one of D�s cousins is following it as well, has been at goal for a few years now and looks fantastic, so she and I are trying to keep each other in line. It�s not easy, but we�re doing our best. Let me tell you, though, walking up the beach back to the house is a heck of a workout. The incline is insanely steep and my butt and thighs are burning by the time I get to the top. Someone likened it to a Stairmaster beyond the most difficult setting.

--------------------

When we�re not on the beach or playing cards or a board game, we�ve been playing Sudoku. It�s incredibly addicting.

--------------------

We had tickets for last night�s Red Sox game but ended up giving them to one of D�s volleyball buddies. We knew once we got here we weren�t going to want to leave to go to the game. I�m disappointed only because we missed Schilling pitching again. He�s done much better his past two trips out from the bullpen. Last night�s game was good, though. We�ve still got one more pair of tickets to see them play the D�Rays on my birthday. Still praying to the pitching gods that Schilling pitches that night.

--------------------

Well, I�m going to pick this place up a little before everyone comes over and then go find D. He went over to the other house a while ago. I haven�t even been outside yet! I do okay with heat as long as there�s a breeze, but humidity does a number on me, physically and mentally, so if I don�t have to deal with it, I won�t.

--------------------

Have a happy� whatever day today is! :-)