quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Bite Me
Thursday, Mar. 18, 2004 : 11:29 a.m.
No better place to vent than in my own diary, right? Here goes...

Why is it when someone says �I don�t mean to belittle you, but�� or �I don�t mean to upset you, but�� or �I don�t mean to humiliate you in front of hundreds of people, but�� that they do exactly what they say they don�t mean to do. If you have to start a sentence with a statement like that, unless you�re speaking to a bitter enemy, please just keep your mouth shut. Chances are, it doesn�t need to be heard. Let me say I�m not a very trusting individual to begin with and typically don�t air personal stuff to acquaintances or the general public. I recently made an exception because it related to a topic that was being discussed, I was feeling frustrated and just needed to vent a little. All I said was that I wasn�t completely content with some things in my life and that I�m not very happy with my job right now. That�s it. I didn�t go into specifics. That�s when I get hit with �I don�t mean to belittle you, but, everyone else has problems too�.

No shit. Thought I was the only one. Thanks for pointing that out.

How about letting me vent once in a while, just the way everyone else does, and not get on my case about it? I do not berate others for venting. I let them vent, not try to make them feel like a piece of crap. Okay, now I have the image of Triumph, the Insult Comic Dog saying "I can't believe it's not poop!" stuck in my head. Lord, help me.

So I'm wondering if there is anyone in this great big world of ours whom I can trust on the occasions that I do share some sort of feeling/emotion, no matter how small. I've tried before, believe me, but always get burned with comments such as the ones above. I sometimes feel I have a tattoo on my forehead that�s visible to everyone except me that says �Please crap on me�. Insert vision of Triumph again.

Every person I have allowed to get close to me has burned me in this way. This is why I now keep everyone at arm�s length.

And people wonder why I�ve become so cynical.

D would say I'm overreacting. He'd probably be right. Because he's always right and because I love him, I'll make him something extra good for dinner tonight.

End of rant.