quest
the fellowship
bill the pony

Just Rambling
Friday, Mar. 19, 2004 : 12:12 p.m.
Hah! You know, I almost copied and pasted a letter I was working on for my boss in here. Yeah, it's a good thing it's Friday. Here's my real entry:

I�ve calmed down considerably since yesterday. I had a succinct reply for the belittler, but never posted it. It helped a lot to write out the reply and also vent in yesterday�s diary entry. I hate confrontation. The particular message board where this whole thing occurred has recently been through a minor lockdown because some folks were� well� just not being very nice to some others. I felt no matter how politely I responded to her comment that the junior high stuff would start all over again and, since I never liked junior high to begin with, I don�t want to revisit it in any way.

Never did get to make D a decent dinner last night. Forgot he had a condo meeting. He made himself a delicious and nutritious peanut butter sandwich. When he got back from the meeting he made a bag of cinnamon popcorn and had a beer. It really grosses me out when he does that. Anywho, our parking lot is going to be repaved this summer and they�re expecting the cost to run between $50-70k. That�s insane. It�s asphalt, not gold. But here�s what I�m thinking/hoping: Condo fees (and rent for the occupants who are not owners) will go up, the people I/we can�t stand will move out and better people will move in! Well, it sounds good in theory. When we moved in 5 years ago it was a nice, quiet place. Many of the people were near our age and a lot like us - quiet. Most of those nice people have since moved out and have been replaced by loud, rude, obnoxious folk. Imagine trying to sleep in on a Saturday or Sunday morning, only to wake at 7:30 to the loud, plucky Latino music that the new folks across the hall listen to. I think their entire country moved in, actually. More power to �em. Also imagine trying to go to sleep on any given evening to the loud, pulsing, thumping music of the frat boys that don�t even live on your floor. I prefer the frat boys� music to the Latino music, but not when it makes my walls and floor vibrate. And we have the Spicolli�s living directly below us. The guy, I swear, sounds just like Jeff Spicolli, and smokes as much, too. Thank God we don�t smell it anymore.

�I�m so wasted!�

There�s never a dull moment where we live. No sir. We�re actually poking around now, looking at some townhouses and smallish houses. D is leaning more towards a townhouse. I say fine as long as the neighbors are quiet and friendly.

Not much on the fire for the weekend. Have to attend a wake Sunday afternoon. The father of my favorite coworker passed away on Wednesday. She�s the 3rd person, in as many months in my department, to have a death in the family. My grandmother passed away on 12/30/03; the father of one of our officers� passed away the end of January; now my favorite co-worker�s father has passed on. I�ve heard that bad things come in 3�s, so I hope this is the end of it.